I used to love “Ten Things” lists. It was the perfect filler piece whenever I needed to add space in a paper. And people love lists – just look a Buzzfeed. I used to do them a bunch but I haven’t lately (aside from my memorial day satire). So I’m a little excited about writing one for this prompt.

I graduate college this year and I think the most appropriate list for me to write would be about what I want to do after I get that overpriced piece of paper.

  1. Get drunk in Paris

    I’ve written about where I want to go to graduate school multiple times and this is one of the things I can not wait to do. I have this pretentious fantasy of being a writer in Paris and doing the whole drunk writer thing would be fun. Really fun, actually.

  2. Drive to Chicago to get copius bottle of Blood of the Unicorn.

    One of my favorite (top five) movies is The Blues Brothers. Since I have been 12 all I have wanted to do is drive around Chicago wearing the same suit and go to little blues clubs. The Blood of the Unicorn is a beer my dad and I ordered from a brewery in the city. They don’t sell it where I live and I really want one again. Along the way I will stop for White Castle – just had to throw that in there.

  3. Not have a metaphysical, schizophrenic crisis like the lead character of Fight Club.

    It’s actually a legitimate fear of mine.

  4. See a play in the new Globe Theater

    This is also something I would have to do during a potential graduate school trip. If I get into the University of Kent I would so do everything I can to see everything Shakespeare-related I could.

  5. Make a  paycheck that makes me feel like an adult.

    No comment. Just want to do that. For self-worth purposes and stuff.

  6. Write something that people like.

    Otherwise this creative writing degree will just be a complete waste of time.

  7. Get my body right.

    Because it is just an absolute mess right now.

  8. Love someone.

    Preferably a young french woman I meet in grad school that has a thing for Americans.

  9. Make people happy.

    Because making people sad is just a sucky thing to do.

  10. Not die.

    For at least 60 years. That would cool.

 


Discover more from The "Untitled Project"

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

17 responses to “Ten things I have to do after I graduate college”

  1. […] thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/2014/05/27/ten-things-i-have-to-do-after-i-graduate-colleg… […]

  2. Your list of ten is awesome.

  3. […] thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/2014/05/27/ten-things-i-have-to-do-after-i-graduate-colleg… […]

  4. […] thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/2014/05/27/ten-things-i-have-to-do-after-i-graduate-colleg… […]

  5. well I also use dot love the lists of ten – and on yours – well I share #2 with you – Chicago has been on my list for a little while now – and hope to go in the next couple of years – but we have to see family on many of our trips – and well, one day….

    aLso – with #7 – when you are serious about this – email me and I have some starting tips for you my friend. Just some things to consider and some starting health tips. 🙂 because when it comes to your body and physical health – many things are the same for humans – but then we all have unique bodies – and we were raised with different soil, different exposures to this and that – and so many times optimal health takes detective work and TIME! but it starts with what you mentioned here – just wanting that health – and then also remember that the little things add up – the small things make a difference – so staying away from chemicals helps – adding lemon to your water (or maybe ber – ha!) can help – and just eating a a few bites of greens DOES help. 🙂
    have a great weekend rock star.

    1. I have had battles with number seven my entire life. I know how to fix it, it’s just one of those things of being willing to take that step again. Over the past couple of years I’ve really loved being judged by my writing and nothing else. Adding skinny to that again would make me question the quality of my work. It’s a horrible rationalization and something I need to get past – but it’s where my head is at. I have a plan for it and am determined just to get healthy more than anything else. It’s going to be on my terms though. If I do it for society it just won’t feel right for me. Thanks for the comment, I’ll definitely ask for a tip or two (it’s always good to keep learning) once I pull the trigger.

      1. well I know you know this – but it is NOT about being skinny – It is about being healthy – and it is about being comfortable in your clothes – and it is about feeling good physically and mentally –

        and I also agree that anything we do for society is a compromise of who we are – but the little things we do can just make our quality of life better – for us – and many times it is not even a matter of pulling a trigger – it starts with slow changes that make a difference in the long run – and it becomes more win-win because it is natural – ya know….

  6. being a Chicagoan-and a non drinker, I looked up the drink you mentioned. I dont see it available for purchase online.

    1. Yeah, you have to buy it in store. When we had them, we had someone buy it and ship it to us in Massachusetts.

      1. ah okay. I immediately was looking for an online store and say I’d ship you a bottle. But no such luck-so thanks for explaining it. I dont get out much, but if I come across a bottle, I’ll let you know and ship it.

        1. That was a nice thought. I think the next time I have it will be after conducting a journey for it. It’ll make me want it more. Plus its hard as he’ll to ship alcohol into Massachusetts. They are crazy behind the Times. Thanks for the offer, though.

          1. haha no problem. Besides, a trip to Chicago is always worth it

  7. […] The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”Ten things I have to do after I graduat… […]

  8. […] The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” Ten things I have to do after I gradua… […]

What do you think?

Trending