Eight months and I will have my bachelor’s degree in creative writing. That is an insane sentence to write. I don’t think I’m ready for it at all. I’ve scrapped and clawed for that little piece of paper for so long that I have no clue what the reality of my world will be like when I actually get it. Like none.

I’ started to seriously think about what I actually want to do post-bachelors earlier last week. For awhile I looked up internships and local writing jobs but I never really felt impassioned about anything specific. When people asked me “So what are you going to do with your degree?” I typically responded “…write. And hopefully get paid for it.” I didn’t (don’t, really) care what field it was – I just want to spend my life writing. Journalism, Screenplays, Novels – it doesn’t matter.

But on Friday I found something I actually feel passionate about.

I’ve always wanted to travel to Europe. Always. Ever since I started reading British romanticism or the modernist American writers of the 1920’s I have had a fascination with the United Kingdom and France (or, to be specific, London and Paris). So, for fun, on Friday I looked for grad school opportunities in London. Insert the University of Kent. The school has a one-year creative writing graduate program where you spend six months at their Canterbury campus and six months at their Paris campus.

They had my attention.

For the rest of Friday I searched their website to learn more about their program. How would we fit together? How much would it cost? What were their classes like? I had to know everything. There have been a couple of periods in my life when I have been confronted with something and I intrinsically knew that this was meant for me – that I need to be wherever this thing may be. This was one of those times.

I’ve written on here about my love for the earlier mentioned time periods, medieval culture and the almost mythical allure of that area. When I read the overview of their program it felt like I found a part of me I didn’t know was lost:

Our expertise ranges from the medieval to the postmodern, including British, American and Irish literature, postcolonial writing, 18th-century studies, Shakespeare, early modern literature and culture, Victorian studies, modern poetry, critical theory and cultural history. The international standing of the School ensures that we have a lively, confident research culture, sustained by a vibrant, ambitious intellectual community. We also count a number of distinguished creative writers among our staff, and we actively explore crossovers between critical and creative writing in all our areas of teaching and research.

If that is not me, I don’t know what is – I really don’t.

There are so many positives to this program for me; I wouldn’t have to learn French (the Paris courses are taught in English), they accept American financial aid, the housing and cost is relatively cheap. I want to go. I want to go so bad.

I think this could be a really good experience for me. What better way to become a better writer than to study writing in two cities with such a diverse literary history? Living in a new culture would present so many different and engaging perspectives. I can’t envision a situation in which i would not become a more well-rounded person or a better writer.

I wrote about this for the weekly writing challenge because I want it. I want it badly. I haven’t actually wanted something in this way in such a long time. I love all the things and people in my life but i haven’t longed for someone or something in so long. I’ve thought about this school and opportunity constantly since I came across it. I long for this. My expectations have become relevant again. While I think I would ultimately adapt if I had to go somewhere else for grad school, at this point anything else would be a let down.

I’m going to do some more researching on the college and ask advisers and teachers I trust about the school. If I were to get in it would be for the 2015-2016 school year (it only starts in the fall semester) so I have a lot of time to prep and get everything in line for my application. The requirements are a bachelor’s degree with first or second honors (I’m guessing that equates to Summa Cum Laude or Magna Cum Laude) and a creative writing piece that is 1,500 – 2,000 words long or four pages (If Poetry). I think I have plenty of time to give my best shot at achieving this experience.

Check out what other people wrote for this prompt here.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

14 Comment on “The prospect of Grad School

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Wanderer | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  2. Pingback: Beautiful Expectations | litadoolan

  3. Pingback: High Expectations | itsmayurremember

  4. Pingback: Term four #SNHU grades are in! | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  5. Pingback: The start of a short story | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  6. Pingback: Ten things I have to do after I graduate college | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  7. Pingback: A Hope from our Long Lost Distant Relations | Wired With Words

  8. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger award | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

