A little irony for you, I just finished a week-long attempt to watch American Hustle. It’s funny that the prompt is asking for a time when I was hustled after I just watched a movie about hustling.

I don’t know if I have blacked out stories from my life where I have gotten hustled but I can’t seem to think of anything. There was a period of time when I got back to Albuquerque from Florida and I was trying to find work. The ad said that you could make $20-$30 an hour so i thought it would be worth a shot to apply. When I got there the thing turned out to be one of those pyramid schemes where you sell vacuums to your friends and family. I needed something a little more stable than that – plus my family was out of state and my friends were poor like me. Really that is a story about me almost being hustled and potentially hustling other people.

I guess that will work.

Check out these people who actually have stories about being hustled:

  1. Ilya Fostiy. The Enlightened One | Crazy Art
  2. Quark chase | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Superiority complex | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Sky Geometry | The Bliss of Reality
  5. Bus Route & The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  6. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | The Road Less Travelled By
  7. Disguise | The Land Slide Photography
  8. Boundaries and Abuse | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  9. Need A New Escape Plan | Exploratorius
  10. DP Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | Sabethville
  11. Day 73: The Body Is A Brilliant Disguise | The Sacred Architecture of Here and Now
  12. The Dancer | My Little Avalon
  13. Surprise! | meanderedwanderings
  14. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  15. The Jokester | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  16. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise « Mama Bear Musings
  17. The Prankster gets Punked | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman
  18. Hoodwinked
  19. A genetic whatsit containing a pretty low gullibility factor | thoughtsofrkh
  20. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise-Psychiatryc Side of Ego and Foolishness | Journeyman
  21. There’s No Foolin Me! | Musings | WANGSGARD
  22. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | imagination
  23. happy fortieth birthday to me | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  24. Brilliant Disguise: My Old School | A Blog of One’s Own
  25. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  26. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  27. The Race?? [Porch Story #3] | Sitting on the Porch
  28. Growing Up Irish Under False Pretenses
  29. Irony of a Smile | Musings of a Menopausal Maven
  30. Knowing Me and Knowing You | Losing It
  31. Con Artists Are Everywhere | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  32. Demon | shame
  33. You left me with a hole in my balloon of awe « psychologistmimi
  34. You live and learn | Long Winding Road
  35. Got Me Good… | Life Confusions
  36. I Pulled the Wool Over My Own Eyes | Random Words
  37. Word of mouth disguise | Le Drake Noir
  38. Oh typical american food store! | Random & Real
  39. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise « the barren page
  40. A Pleasant Surprise | Flowers and Breezes
  41. The only solace being, the secret remained | Outreach
  42. Tricking the Heart | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  43. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | DukkSheit Happens……….
  44. Tastes Like Chicken | …Properly Ridiculous…
  45. There is Something about Mary in the Deep South: My Alternate Persona « psychologistmimi
  46. Devils in Disguise | Views Splash!
  47. Taken in by the Best | Virginia Views
  48. Daily Prompt: Have a Pleasant Afternoon | Blackbird’s Nest
  49. A Deceiving Low-Down Dirty Deceiver | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  50. Beneath the mask | vic briggs
  51. Hot Air | Kate Murray
  52. DP Challenge – Brilliant Disguise | hometogo232
  53. Brilliant Disguise: Daily Post | Destino
  54. Howard the Good | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  55. Vermin | zaphnathpaaneah
  56. Sucker! | Trucker Turning Write
  57. Lockers, Lasers, and the Great Prank War (Daily Prompt) | Thinking Diagonally

Discover more from The "Untitled Project"

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

12 responses to “My hustle that never quite happened”

  1. I’ve still not seen American Hustle either. I have a whole list of movies that I haven’t seen yet! Blogging is about the only time I seem to sit still. However I promised my daughter to watch Catching Fire this weekend.

    Sorry about the pyramid scheme. My son-in-law recently had a similar experience while job hunting.

    1. I got out of that really quickly. Day 2 of orientation I just walked out. And Catching Fire was really good. I rented that last week. I still have to do a write up on it.

      1. My son-in-law did the same. They don’t let you know right away what it is. Oh, good! We’re watching it tomorrow. Can’t wait to read your write up afterwards.

  2. I guess it will work. Some of these ads are so bogus I don’t know why people care to believe it. I can see you were short of cash and believed they’ll pay you twenty or thirty dollars an hour. You had to learn a lesson which you did,now you’d think before you ink.
    No you’re not a tool, you like to believe people.

    1. It was weird. It was written like a usual job listing. But once I got there I knew it was something I shouldn’t commit to.

  3. ah those scam things, my cousin in law was heavy into this stuff and tried to sign up everyone in the family – yikes. Have a great weekend!

    1. Yeah, it never felt quite right to me. It felt like a job where I ask my friends to pay me. And you too!

  4. […] My hustle that never quite happened | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

  5. […] My hustle that never quite happened | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

  6. […] My hustle that never quite happened | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

  7. […] Birthday to me 29. Cabernet In The Dark – Daily Prompt – The Crickets That Follow 30. The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” – My Hustle That Never Quite Hap… 31. Properly Ridiculous – Tastes Like Chicken 32. seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah – Daily […]

What do you think?

Trending