A little irony for you, I just finished a week-long attempt to watch American Hustle. It’s funny that the prompt is asking for a time when I was hustled after I just watched a movie about hustling.

I don’t know if I have blacked out stories from my life where I have gotten hustled but I can’t seem to think of anything. There was a period of time when I got back to Albuquerque from Florida and I was trying to find work. The ad said that you could make $20-$30 an hour so i thought it would be worth a shot to apply. When I got there the thing turned out to be one of those pyramid schemes where you sell vacuums to your friends and family. I needed something a little more stable than that – plus my family was out of state and my friends were poor like me. Really that is a story about me almost being hustled and potentially hustling other people.

I guess that will work.

Check out these people who actually have stories about being hustled:

  1. Ilya Fostiy. The Enlightened One | Crazy Art
  2. Quark chase | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Superiority complex | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Sky Geometry | The Bliss of Reality
  5. Bus Route & The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  6. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | The Road Less Travelled By
  7. Disguise | The Land Slide Photography
  8. Boundaries and Abuse | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  9. Need A New Escape Plan | Exploratorius
  10. DP Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | Sabethville
  11. Day 73: The Body Is A Brilliant Disguise | The Sacred Architecture of Here and Now
  12. The Dancer | My Little Avalon
  13. Surprise! | meanderedwanderings
  14. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  15. The Jokester | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  16. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise « Mama Bear Musings
  17. The Prankster gets Punked | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman
  18. Hoodwinked
  19. A genetic whatsit containing a pretty low gullibility factor | thoughtsofrkh
  20. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise-Psychiatryc Side of Ego and Foolishness | Journeyman
  21. There’s No Foolin Me! | Musings | WANGSGARD
  22. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | imagination
  23. happy fortieth birthday to me | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  24. Brilliant Disguise: My Old School | A Blog of One’s Own
  25. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  26. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  27. The Race?? [Porch Story #3] | Sitting on the Porch
  28. Growing Up Irish Under False Pretenses
  29. Irony of a Smile | Musings of a Menopausal Maven
  30. Knowing Me and Knowing You | Losing It
  31. Con Artists Are Everywhere | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  32. Demon | shame
  33. You left me with a hole in my balloon of awe « psychologistmimi
  34. You live and learn | Long Winding Road
  35. Got Me Good… | Life Confusions
  36. I Pulled the Wool Over My Own Eyes | Random Words
  37. Word of mouth disguise | Le Drake Noir
  38. Oh typical american food store! | Random & Real
  39. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise « the barren page
  40. A Pleasant Surprise | Flowers and Breezes
  41. The only solace being, the secret remained | Outreach
  42. Tricking the Heart | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  43. Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | DukkSheit Happens……….
  44. Tastes Like Chicken | …Properly Ridiculous…
  45. There is Something about Mary in the Deep South: My Alternate Persona « psychologistmimi
  46. Devils in Disguise | Views Splash!
  47. Taken in by the Best | Virginia Views
  48. Daily Prompt: Have a Pleasant Afternoon | Blackbird’s Nest
  49. A Deceiving Low-Down Dirty Deceiver | I Didn’t Just Wake Up This Morning with a Craving
  50. Beneath the mask | vic briggs
  51. Hot Air | Kate Murray
  52. DP Challenge – Brilliant Disguise | hometogo232
  53. Brilliant Disguise: Daily Post | Destino
  54. Howard the Good | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  55. Vermin | zaphnathpaaneah
  56. Sucker! | Trucker Turning Write
  57. Lockers, Lasers, and the Great Prank War (Daily Prompt) | Thinking Diagonally

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

12 Comment on “My hustle that never quite happened

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: You left me with a hole in my balloon of awe « psychologistmimi

  4. Pingback: A Brilliant Disguise – or – I Heard it on the Radio | Cancer Isn't Pink

  5. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Whoppers” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

