As I write this I think we are through with two days of OTAs (Organized Team Activities) and I haven’t taken the moment to write about what I think of the Pats after the draft and what I’m excited to see over the summer.

Draft Thoughts:

  • Love the Drake Maye pick. When it came down to it, I just wanted them to pick a quarterback in the top three. I didn’t really care if it was Maye or Jayden Daniels. They now have an athlete with dynamic talent who the team can build around for a decade. He’s been saying all of the right things, he seems to be genuine and competitive, and he seems to developing a good bond with the receivers that were picked along with him.
  • The receivers: We could split hairs with the selection process in the second round, but when it comes down to it, they got a guy they like. Jaylen Polk was accomplished in Washington and seems to have enough ability to separate and still be a contested catch threat. Javon Baker was at Bama before UCF and seems to be of a similar skill set to Polk – while being instantly the most entertaining player on the team. Popcorn ready.
  • The OL. Cayden Wallace and Layden Robinson both played in conferences that saw them play against substantial competition. In a unit that just needs talent, I think they will be important additions.
  • Offense first five picks: It’s clear the front office saw what everyone else saw. This team needs young talent. I’m excited to see how they work out.

Offseason questions:

  • Who plays Left Tackle? They think it will be Wallace according to interviews. Is there an insurance option in free agency if he can’t make the transition?
  • How does the WR play out? Someone notable will be cut. Is it JuJu? Will Tyquan survive? Is trade addition K.J. Osborn the odd man out? If (when) I go to the open sessions in July this will be the first thing I look at.
  • Maye: It’s a shiny new toy! When can we play with it?!?! Any time a QB is drafted a clock starts. It’ll be curious to see how he develops.
  • How much does the defense change? Mayo is now the guy. Will there be influences of his own that differ from Belichick? The football nerd in me will appreciate watching this one.


Discover more from The "Untitled Project"

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

One response to “Patriots Post-Draft, Pre-Camp thoughts”

What do you think?

Trending