What is your career plan?

This is a big answer.

When I made the switch from business to English, it was because I knew the type of thing I was good at and enjoyed doing. When I picked creative writing over journalism it was because I wanted to have flexibility in my career path.

I think that’s the vest place to start from. I’ve written a lot in the last 5-7 months about how I’m feeling and what’s gone on as a teacher, but I think the reason why I haven’t been inconsolable over the way it’s going (even if I’ve been dealing with some panic/anxiety over the future) is because at my absolute core, I am a person with many interests and I am open to going where my interest takes me. If, during the summer, I find some type of content creation job that I’m really into, I could easily see myself leaving teaching next year. If I get a decent raise and get to teach a course I requested, I could easily see me sticking it out for another year. The key will be finding something that interests me.

If I had to reassess the career plan, nearly ten years into being into a career, I would reinforce the fluidity I embraced to start. Realize that an end of a story, good or bad, doesn’t discredit all of the good things you did or the attempt you made.


Discover more from The "Untitled Project"

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

What do you think?

Trending