Write down the first words that comes to mind when we say . . .

. . . home.

. . . soil.

. . . rain.

Use those words in the title of your post.

I haven’t done a daily prompt in a while and this one stood out to me. It feels like it is an easy one to get back into the habit of doing these prompts, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

  • Home: The first thing that comes to mind is the word “Haven”, which according to Google is a place of safety or refuge. Thinking about it a little deeper, Home is where I work these days. I just graduated school and I am trying to find freelance work (because there is seemingly no writing jobs on Cape Cod – which I guess makes sense). For a long time my feelings about home were kind of like the following clip from Garden State:

    Lately, since I moved back to my birth home, I can’t say that I really feel that way anymore. This home – the staircases where we used to play, the couch that’s so easy to fall asleep on, and the kitchen table we would convene around to talk, drink, and laugh – all still mean something to me. I don’t know if I want to create a new home as much as be a part of this one. Or make a new one with reverence for this one. I know I need to leave. I need to have my next adventure. I guess I am realizing that I am going to miss it when it happens again.

    I get to write after Trixi is done.
    I get to write after Trixi is done.
  • Soil: There isn’t much soil around the northeast these days. Snow has taken over our lives and put a blanket on top of everything. Normally, when I hear a word like soil I think about terms like growth. But now, because of all the snow, it doesn’t feel right.  When soil can’t be a place to develop new life, what use is it?

    DSC09438
    This thing is just cute.
  • Rain: Life. Water, like rain, equals life. A lot of people probably wrote that, huh? I’d love a little rain right now. It might do something to the crazy amount of snow I mentioned. Here are five of my favorite songs that involve rain (in no particular order):

    Funny little bit about this song: whenever it rained during my Disney Internship I would hum this and do the dance with my broom in whatever area I was cleaning. People enjoyed it. I hope…

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Olm321vgk8

Here is everyone else who participated in the prompt:

  1. Q the AdultThe Family of Soothing Dirt [Daily Prompt]
  2. Loading…Free Association
  3. Everyday AdventuresMom History Running.
  4. beyond back creekSmall Stone
  5. Hope* the happy huggerHome, rain, soil…
  6. tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-eeFree Association – Don’t take your family driving down a dirt road
  7. theseekernext is the brain
  8. Spunky WayfarerTowards home, through the rain, barefoot on the dark soil.
  9. A Real Mummy DiaryA Dirty Shy Needs A Wet Wipe – Free Association
  10. I don’t know where home is but I know that while the rain keeps feeding the soil there will be a home for all of us on Earth – The Fried Eggs Blog
  11. charlottesville winterDiana Ross Good Morning Heart Ache
  12. ayimasEVERYTHING, RAIN, GLOOM…
  13. Adventures of an Aussie Girl in LondonGrowth, London, Constant, Relief
  14. Pigments of Lifethe ingredients of me – home… soil… rain
  15. The Nameless OneSleeping on the mud
  16. Dim Lamp/קנה רצוץ לא ישבורThe Daily Prompt at Daily Post @ WordPress.com
  17. All Those Small ThingsI’m A Child Of The Rain, At Home In The Soil
  18. amateurxpressMy Family Is Happy when I am in school!
  19. The Gozum ShowLove Fertility Blessing
  20. cambios de humorHome sweet home
  21. Random Encounters of an Inquisitive MindHow refreshing would it be to leave our comfort zone and experience growth?
  22. The Cheeky DivaDaily Prompt~ Topsoil scorched as “RainMan” scores a homerun~!
  23. motherofnine9Free Association/ Welcome Growth in the Garden
  24. N.S. Jones’s BlogFree Association — Rain
  25. Chronicles of an Anglo SwissFree Association
  26. Life of Me and MineDP: Free Association
  27. Life With Mike and LindyHome, Soil, Rain = Lazy L Ranch
  28. PurnimodoIn this forgotten home of concrete, I listen to the soil you walked upon and wait for the rain to write your name
  29. A Cup of JoeLove Wets The Dirt
  30. A Western Buddhist’s TravelsFree Association, The Earth comforts, and renews us!
  31. Big Bowl Of Thought SoupPreparing for Rain to Fall on Soil at Home.
  32. lena de almeidaFree Association – Home is where I want to be
  33. Breathing SpaceAssoil Us From Rainforest Homebrew
  34. Free AssociationDaily Prompt
  35. It’s Just Me: My thoughts and happenings of the day…Free Association. . . home. . . soil. . . rain
  36. jaycee68Heart. Earth. Life.
  37. Gooseyanne’s BlogFree Association – Home – soil – rain
  38. Poeme Sur Le Web BlogFree Association
  39. Musical Foodie LoveFree Association
  40. Klassi KMy heart is rooted, so I can shine
  41. Creative EscapeFree Association
  42. …and she writesEngland, Red, Overcast
  43. My Life, My Way, My Words!Home… Soil… Rain
  44. Prayers and PromisesHome…Soil…Rain…New Birth
  45. The Temenos JournalHome is the rain on my soil
  46. Brandon Bored‘House of Dirt and Puddles’
  47. Common Chapters: life changesDP: High Plains & Wheat Fields — A Thirst Unquenched
  48. Shadoza: In My WorldRunning Barefoot Through the Seasons of Iowa
  49. Stroopwafel InspirationFree Association – I’m wet with my umbrella in the middle of nowhere.
  50. Moonlight ReflectionsThe Day Dirt and Water Threatened My Family
  51. Advocacine’s BlogFA / Drizzles on the Miracle Fruit Gives Joy to my Heart
  52. Cat’s ChinwagFree Association: Wet plant books
  53. The Blogging PathFree Association
  54. Weekly Photo ChallengeWeekly Photo Challenge BEYOND
  55. | ellikitty –Home
  56. Family Photos Food & CraftNew post Free Association 19/1
  57. perennialwalkdaily prompt:free association
  58. That’s What She SaidFree Association – Shelter Sand Monsoon
  59. The Silver Lining of the Optimistic PessimistHome::Heart; Soil::Dig; Rain::Clean
  60. Wiley’s WisdomLove Play Live: Lighting Up Darkness
  61. Clumsy MusingsAlone, muddy and thirsty.
  62. bodhisattvaintrainingdaily prompt : dharma rain..on home soil
  63. Sula1968’s BlogWord Association – Home … Soil …. Rain
  64. The life of one hot mess in a wolf pack circleDaily Prompt
  65. sat n’ all thatScotland, the farm, and the common denominator
  66. From Balderdash To Epiphany.Home, Soil, Rain,
  67. Vexing PointFree Association
  68. unboltTurn around!
  69. The Wandering PoetUnder the moonlight
  70. NAMASTE.Free. India. Ripple.
  71. ChouettLaChouett: Sweet Home, rich with seeds, bow – Having a go at today’s Daily Prompt – Free Association
  72. ParkInkSpotWish it was raining on the homeland soil
  73. psychologistmimiA storm is coming home to our soil: Thankfully It’s winter and it won’t rain on my parade
  74. Thought Process of a Rare NeujBeach, Nature and Love (unexpected)
  75. Designer SophisticateThe words that come to mind are Chicago, backyard, and summer.
  76. Thoughts of a crooked mind.Comfort,Life and Memories.
  77. EpenthesisCadenza
  78. Just Writing!The Rain on the Soil back Home
  79. Larry Teaches SchoolSpontaneous Poem: Home. Soil. Rain.
  80. Try More Than OnceHome …. less
  81. theloneroseHome,Soil,Rain
  82. Everyday AdventuresFree Association – Home – Soil – Rain!
  83. In So Many WordsHarm Not My Sanctuary, Lest I Weep
  84. The Sky is The LimitFamily, grass, life
  85. Not A Punk RockerRun Dirty Today?
  86. WysJoyFul CompanyHome, Soil and Rain: Making Mud Cakes By Inspiration
  87. In Which She Tries To WriteDP: Free Association, or How the Fish Family Found the Earth Particularly Cleansing
  88. In Which She Tries To WriteDP: Free Association, or How the Fish Family Found the Earth Particularly Cleansing
  89. The Lone Artistmy Home
  90. Green EmbersThe Avatar, in Ultima 8, went to the Earth Titan, but forgot to bring his heart.
  91. THE UNEXPECTED JOURNEYRAIN THAT REFLECTS ME
  92. Raspberry’s DaydreamsWhen it Rains in the Neighborhood
  93. Out From Under the UmbrellaSmall Town Mud Puddles
  94. No Talent For CertaintyDry Dark Falling
  95. I’m a Writer, Yes I AmSomeday Potatoes
  96. An Upturned SoulI Inhale Rooms…
  97. Chronicles of an Anglo SwissWarmed up Daily Prompt from 2013: Home, soil, rain – The Return of the Worms
  98. ladyleemanilaThe Soil at Home Needs the Rain
  99. Creo SomniumI’m Free Associatin’ …home …soil …rain
  100. berryduchessMy Special Bond of Something
  101. Lady in TransitionLaughter Mends My Mood
  102. Jenny AhlersRemsen, IA
  103. Kim’s BlogMy Dad the Family Corn and Cattle Farmer.
  104. Lexe NillesHome, Rain, Soil
  105. LIVING THE DREAMThe mesmerizing fragrance of the soil..
  106. A Simple LifeThe Great Loosening
  107. All About Being HumanDaily Prompt Warm Frozen Snow
  108. simplygiselleMMM smell that earth
  109. The Dictionary of Victorian Insults & NicetiesHome… Soil… Rain…
  110. lifelessons – a blog by Judy Dykstra-BrownSouth Dakota Gumbo
  111. Life is greatThe rain in Spain doesn’t stay mainly in the plain
  112. They, You and MeHome, Soil and Earth.
  113. To Wear A RainbowHome, Soil, Rain….a Haiku.
  114. Flowers and BreezesGoing Back Home
  115. RelaxA sea of rain on the roof..
  116. lifehomeandawaySame for all,soil is home.
  117. All Things Cute and BeautifulBeing a Flowery Garden Holiday!
  118. thepalimpsestmindMy dirty dance
  119. LöwlandWorld Champions
  120. A lot from LydiaHouse Dirt Blues
  121. Loose Leaf BinderOn home soil where the rain falls gently.
  122. Rita OnlinePuddle Splashing and Mud Pie
  123. Wide Eyed in WonderThe rain soaked soil of our home
  124. Home, Earth, Innocence, and Experience.S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer
  125. The Cat ChroniclesDaily Feline Prompt: Feline Association – There is no home, soil or rain in this post
  126. Random MusingsHappy Republic Day India!
  127. Passion through PoetryFree Association
  128. Thought LiquorPetrichor: home, soil, and rain
  129. emmapalovaLowell on water is down to earth
  130. in the moment…earth…soul…life….
  131. Feminine VestigeFree Horizon Storm
  132. Now and ForeverHeart (beat) Drops (on leaving) Earth
  133. Perhaps yes, perhaps no. Exactly? I don’t know.Home, Soil, Rain…
  134. Basically Beyond BasicFree Association
  135. INSPIRING MAXWorking The Soil
  136. The Tarot AlchemistHome..Soil..Rain
  137. The Hempstead ManHome, soil, rain – What came to my mind first.
  138. The Gad About TownPetrichor
  139. Geek Ergo SumFree association, or the the rain at home
  140. Melanie Ryding – Ryding2Health BLOGRain, soil, happiness, home
  141. Jackie’s Forget Me NotsA thug belongs in an atmosphere drenched in bacon splat
  142. The Trying ProjectFree Association
  143. Lowell on water is down to earth
  144. novicepenfiddlerThose rainy days
  145. What does nelkumi think? ねるくみの頭の中life, tear, so far
  146. Behind The EyesHome|Soil|Rain
  147. BT.XSummer
  148. Zombie FlamingosThe muddy gardens in our backyard
  149. GolifelyHome soil rain
  150. The Secret StationThe Joy of Living a Safe Life
  151. Barbara PyettFree association:
  152. The World Through My EyesComfort in the Cold Open
  153. helen meikle’s scribblefestDaily prompt: Giving the dog his heartworm tablet in the rain
  154. Away with WordsWe can’t see the soil at home right now; it’s covered in frozen rain (and about to get more covered)
  155. Magnanimous WordIndia Land Monsoons
  156. purplepeninportlandFree Association
  157. Carolyn’s Online MagazineIncorporating the Words Home, Rain, & Soil in My Novel
  158. Rolbos ©The Scent of Wet Kalahari Sand. (A conversation in Boggel’s Place)
  159. Loads of SomethingFamily Dirty Sleep
  160. Anton’s IdeasOVER OUR RUBICON?
  161. Candid TalkFAMILY, PLANTATIONS AND BLESSINGS
  162. Awake & DreamingWord Association Three
  163. Phil Harrison’s BlogIt’s Freaking Cold, I can’t see the soil and I wish it was raining.
  164. Yogi’s BlogosmosJourney
  165. Perspectives On….SUP at Home on Rainy Soil
  166. Steps Times TwoAfter the Rain
  167. Quotidian RevisionsRefreshing Plant Life
  168. Bohemian NerdFree Association (“Wandering Mud Puddles”)
  169. Liberating the connections – Tell Tale Therapy
  170. Transformation SynergyFertile Sanctuary
  171. When the Door ClosesAt First Budding – a Haiku
  172. Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbugat home. as a cloudburst threatens my soul.
  173. L.A. LanierAway, Barren, Soothing
  174. An Aspiring Writer“Free Association”
  175. ANITA’S OWL CREEK BRIDGEDeath Lives In A Haunted House
  176. FeedLineHome, soil, rain (it’s cold outside)

Discover more from The "Untitled Project"

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

3 responses to “Home, Soil, Rain”

  1. I must say I have thoroughly enjoyed the way you used the prompt”home,soil,rain.” each one in its own way expressed your feeling of home, soil and earth and the videos were amazing.Thank you for sharing it with us.

What do you think?

Trending