I hit my marks. It is a badge of honor for me. I get my assignments (for school and for print) in on time if not early. The times when a hard deadline really came in to play for me is when I covered sports at the University of New Mexico for the community college. We were a weekly, but the majority of times we would cover a game was the day before design – so everything had to be in pretty quickly.

I think I work differently under deadline. I don’t know if my writing is any better or worse, I think I just think quicker. When I work a longer assignment I am more of a painter and when it has a fast-approaching deadline I’m more of a photographer. But with words.

It is kind of formulaic when a deadline is close. Get the quotes, get the pics, figure out the structure, insert everything. Next day journalism isn’t the most complex thing in the world – but it can be fun.

I wish I had my full catalog of past articles with me because it would be fun to look at everything with a clear head – try to figure out if I actually am better one way or the other.

Check out what other people did for this prompt:

  1. Pressure | The Magic Black Book
  2. Daily Prompt: The Heat is On | Basically Beyond Basic
  3. Time | The Bliss of Reality
  4. Umbrellas | Crazy Art
  5. Introspection | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  6. Concentration aka eating alone 🙂 | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  7. Ilya Fostiy. Is There a God? | The Bliss of Reality
  8. Smile! | Crazy Art
  9. My List-less Life | DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society
  10. My List-less Life | DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society
  11. The Farm | My Little Avalon
  12. The Daily Prompt & Eric’s Aria -Part 1 (short story) | The Jittery Goat
  13. Procrastination Insults My Intelligence | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  14. The biggest appointment | MC’s Whispers
  15. Under Pressure | A mom’s blog
  16. pressure | yi-ching lin photography
  17. DP Daily Prompt: The Heat is On | Sabethville
  18. Cops | Views Splash!
  19. the pressure is the same | y
  20. Men | Hope* the happy hugger
  21. One Crazy Mom » The Heat Is On
  22. Student hurrying to catch the bus (Daily Prompt: “The Heat Is On, Show Us Pressure”) | Photo0pal Photography
  23. I’ll start tomorrow. | Attempted Human Relations and Self
  24. DAILY PROMPT: Pressure | cockatooscreeching
  25. Life Confusions
  26. Daily Prompt: The Heat is On- Perspective of Medical Student | Journeyman
  27. Daily Prompt: Pressure | Captured By Kylie Photography
  28. The heat is on – turned down to low! | Sue’s Trifles
  29. Pressure | The scribbles in the margin
  30. Pressure Points and Implosions | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  31. 400 Pound Burden | Rima Hassan
  32. Live and Don’t Learn | Bright Tuesday
  33. The Luck of the Irish | In Harmony
  34. Daily Prompt: The Heat Is On |
  35. Today’s To-Do List for the workplace: Don’t do the following if you want to survive « psychologistmimi
  36. Daily Prompt: The Heat is On-Pressure | A Day In The Life
  37. I’m blessed with a system on revolt. | thoughtsofrkh
  38. In Preperation | Flowers and Breezes
  39. The Heat Is On | Step Into My Head
  40. Planners vs. Procratinators | Musings | WANGSGARD
  41. Pressure | Active Army Wife
  42. 276. Under Pressure | Barely Right of Center
  43. Pressure | A picture is worth 1000 words
  44. Pressure | The Land Slide Photography
  45. WHEN THE GOING GETS TOUGH, THE TOUGH ORDER PIZZA | SERENDIPITY
  46. Daily Prompt: The Heat is On | Raspberry’s Daydreams
  47. the heat is on | klstar2000
  48. Feeling the Pressure | L5GN
  49. Deadlines and Commitments: What to Leave In, What to Leave Out (B. Seger) | meanderedwanderings
  50. Under Pressure | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  51. Daily Prompt: The Heat is On | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  52. Rock My World | The Library Lady and Rosie Bear
  53. Daily Prompt: Pressure (Nonet) | Morrighan’s Muse
  54. THE DAILY PROMPT: PRESSURE | Francine In Retirement
  55. Blogging Brings Stuff
  56. Friday Night Letdown | Losing It
  57. Daily Prompt… So what IS Pressure? | Eden’s Effort
  58. Deadlines | Life is great
  59. Daily Prompt: My reliable mate | one hundred thousand beats per day
  60. Daring to Fear | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  61. The Heat is On | Knowledge Addiction
  62. Pet Peeves and Other Pressure Points | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  63. The Illusive FEAR of Getting Old | Musings | WANGSGARD
  64. Deadlines… | Kate Murray
  65. Daily Prompt: The Heat Is On « Mama Bear Musings
  66. Live and Let Live. | melissuhhsmiles
  67. Procrastination | Real Momma Ramblings
  68. Procrastination is my Super Power | Macey Mac
  69. Under Pressure: Fight or Flight | Edward Cares
  70. Functional Procrastination… | …Properly Ridiculous…
  71. Pressure and Deadlines | Cass’s Useless Opinions
  72. Daily Prompt: The Heat is On | LoveAndDeathAndEverythingInBetween’s Blog
  73. Procrastinators Unite… Tomorrow | Green Embers

Discover more from The "Untitled Project"

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

8 responses to “P-P-P-Pressure”

  1. Yes sometimes if we don’t check we’re not sure whether we did better or worse when we’re under pressure.

    1. It’s always beneficial to evaluate what you’re doing too.

  2. […] Pingback: P-P-P-Pressure | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project" […]

  3. […] P-P-P-Pressure | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

  4. […] P-P-P-Pressure | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

  5. […] P-P-P-Pressure | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

  6. […] P-P-P-Pressure | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

What do you think?

Trending