Craigville Beach in Hyannis
Craigville Beach in Hyannis

To get an appropriate appreciation of what Cape Cod is I had to leave it. I grew up here from 1986 to 2005 and spent the seven years after that in the desert and various other places in the country. The thing about Cape Cod is, especially when you are away from it for so long, it has an idyllic feel to it. It’s folksy. Mainly comprised of villages, Cape Cod is otherworldly: there is barely any crime, things constantly smell like salt and, in the summer, it has an energy unlike any other.

The flip side to that is, in the winter, this place just shuts down. Things close at like 8:00 p.m. There are not as many chains as there are off cape (good and bad thing). If you like to do things at night it is not the place for you.

I think the winters have extra emphasis placed on them because of the summers. The summers have so many tourists that the winters feel enhanced in desolation. When everyone is here in one moment and gone the next, the next feels pretty damn alone.

The obvious way to right that would be to put some sort of incentive to being here year round. That’s if you want to be able to right it. Cape Cod, in some aspects, is archaic – but it is nice it is. It’s a time capsule that is fun to swim in (literally and figuratively). I don’t think I would make many changes to the overall feel of Cape Cod.

 

 

Check out what other people wrote for this prompt:

  1. Alien on the fence | The Bliss of Reality
  2. Dubai World Trade Center Wedding: Amal & Mahmood | Rima Hassan
  3. Street lamp hiding in the trees | The Bliss of Reality
  4. I live in a city (Poem) | A mom’s blog
  5. Rebuilding the City – where to start | A Teacher’s Blog
  6. [M.M.X.I.V. 68] Where Chicago and the North Shore Meet | Never A Worry
  7. The Daily Prompt & Start With We (short story) | The Jittery Goat
  8. Civilisation | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  9. Making love – the role of the sacred. Civilisation | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  10. DP Daily Prompt: We Built This City | Sabethville
  11. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer | In the Shadows
  12. If I were mayor… | Sue’s Trifles
  13. Once promising, the colour has started to fade. Fast. | thoughtsofrkh
  14. Ogden Shmogden | Community | WANGSGARD
  15. San Francisco Twenty Twelve Part One | Greg Urbano
  16. My beautiful Melbourne | Purplesus’ Blog
  17. No Place I’d Rather Be | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  18. DAILY PROMPT: Getting back to nature | cockatooscreeching
  19. Train journeys | A picture is worth 1000 words
  20. Daily Prompt: We Built This City- Psychology behind embracing change | Journeyman
  21. Daily Prompt: We Built This City | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  22. civilization | yi-ching lin photography
  23. Daily Prompt: My Town | A Day In The Life
  24. most cities are | y
  25. Where I live | Kate Murray
  26. If I Was A Mayor | Flowers and Breezes
  27. Spring – A Haiku | My Little Avalon
  28. Daily Prompt: We Built This City | Basically Beyond Basic
  29. We Built This City: Civilization – Cat City | Khana’s Web
  30. What’s The Word On The Street? Betting Shops, Pawn Shops & Empty Shops… | Steve Says…
  31. Build Your City | Faith, Life and Compassion
  32. In My City… | Life Confusions
  33. Do Pgh Memes Inherently Have To Be Racist, Transphobic and Vicious?
  34. what of the stories | peacefulblessedstar
  35. Daily Prompt: We Built This City | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  36. Sitting in a P.A. Haze | Finale to an Entrance
  37. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  38. 275. Broken City | Barely Right of Center
  39. We Built This City | melissuhhsmiles
  40. Home is Where the Art Is | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  41. College campus (Daily Prompt: “We Built This City, Show Us Civilization”) | Photo0pal Photography
  42. Hometown – the good, the bad and the ugly | Why is there bread in my Kool-Aid?
  43. A BIT OF CIVILIZATION | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  44. False Hope of Spring | Elizabeth Merritt Abbott
  45. Civilization | The Land Slide Photography
  46. we built this city | klstar2000
  47. Cancer Isn’t Pink
  48. Earthquakes and Civilizations | Cancer Isn’t Pink
  49. We Built this City | Brain Teaser
  50. New York: This Dream Isn’t Feeling Sweet | A Sober Head Full Of Confusion
  51. My Kind of Town | My Author-itis
  52. Civilization | Photos by Emilio
  53. Daily Prompt: We Built This City/Civilization | @ The West Gate

Discover more from The "Untitled Project"

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

11 responses to “Living on Cape Cod”

  1. Everyone has his or her own likes and dislikes. You like where you live which is the main thing.

    1. I do and I am happy that I do. Before moving back here I did not like where I was and I think that experience gave me new respect for where I am.

  2. […] Living on Cape Cod | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

  3. […] Living on Cape Cod | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

  4. […] Living on Cape Cod | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

  5. […] Living on Cape Cod | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

  6. […] Living on Cape Cod | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

  7. […] Living on Cape Cod | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

  8. […] Living on Cape Cod | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project” […]

  9. […] | Photos by Emilio 14. Daily Prompt: We Built This City/Civilization | @ The West Gate 15. LIVING ON CAPE COD | THE BOHEMIAN ROCK STAR’S “UNTITLED PROJECT” 16. My Little Piece of Heaven in the Philippines | Schizo Incognito 17. Daily Prompt: Civilization […]

  10. Best time to visit (IMO) is Spring or Fall. The weather is so beautiful and the tourists are much fewer. We have a place in Chatham and the frustration of the bridge can ruin the excitement. A wonderful place to live, you are very lucky!

What do you think?

Trending