When I was living in Albuquerque I ran into a brick wall of sorts. I had just finished my Associates degree in Liberal Arts and I was trying to transfer into the local university to restart my bachelor’s degree. But the university wouldn’t let me in. They claimed I didn’t do enough to up my gpa. I had failed from there (twice) and they thought I didn’t make their standards.

I was stuck. I re-enrolled in the community college to bide my time. I went from being Editor-In-Chief of the school’s newspaper back to being a Staff Reporter again (my term was up at the end of the summer). Not that I didn’t mind it. It allowed me to focus on individual stories that fall. And I found a story that would give me hope again. Hope in myself, hope in my education, hope for creating a peaceful humanity. Let me explain.

I was living in a little hole-in-a-wall Albuquerque apartment and i woke up to a message on my phone. A friend of mine lost her fiance to a stray bullet and it was misreported by the local media. While she was reaching out for guidance and warmth, I felt compelled to do something about. So i wrote a story.

0304141428

And after the story we went around to local media outlets trying to right the wrong. Do a second story. They did.

And while that brought a little bit of light to the person and to the case, it didn’t do much to help the people left in the aftermath. We had to do something to tend to the needs of the grieving. The silent masses.

So we took to Facebook. We created a page:

Remembering Homicide Victims.

61896_481863161867388_416985339_n

The basic premise of RHV was (and has been) to allow the families of the grieving a place to bond and talk about their loved ones, how they are dealing in the aftermath of their own personal tragedies.

So we give them that place. We create various quote memes, post pictures of people and even feature a memorial wall as our cover photo.

Our first wall, we now have five.
Our first wall, we now have five.

The reason I stayed in Albuquerque as long as I did was to help develop this. We wanted to do a memorial/community awareness event. We wanted to tell the stories of the people of our site in public. And we did.

We held an outdoor event on July 29, 2012 at a local Albuquerque park. We featured speakers from families and victim advocates and It was featured on two of the three local networks that night (the third missed the time but wanted to cover it). For everything considered, it was a success.

The extra seven months in Albuquerque spent working on this was one of the most fulfilling time periods in my life because it allowed me the opportunity to tell people’s stories. To learn why telling the stories of people correctly and fully is of the utmost importance. That gave me hope again. Knowing that I was able to provide a bit of solace to people was so crucial in developing my confidence as a writer.

I was devoid of hope and meaning at the end of the previous summer. That year, spent giving myself to other people – often at the questioning of others, established a new sensibility in me. It showed me that I could be an advocate, a writer and a social media manager. It gave me purpose and showed me that I can go past the limits I sometimes impose upon myself.

Check out what other people did for this prompt:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Street cat | Crazy Markovich
  2. Loserly | Mila’s Misadventures
  3. Daily Prompt: Against All Odds-Psychology behind resilience | Journeyman
  4. Daily Prompt: Against All Odds | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  5. Longshot: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  6. To London For Love (Part 2) & The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  7. Tryst | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  8. Changing masks | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  9. It was as though there was someone else helping me along… | Hope* the happy hugger
  10. Care to Dare | Rima Hassan
  11. Off to Peru With You | Under the Monkey Tree
  12. thoughtsofrkh
  13. Against All Odds She Met Grace Prayers and Promises
  14. DP Daily Prompt: | Sabethville
  15. The Best Laid Plans | My Author-itis
  16. I upgraded my laptop against all the odds | Sue’s Trifles
  17. Take a Look at me Now – Apparently I’m a Robot | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  18. Do it anyway | Busy Mind Thinking
  19. One Crazy Mom » Against all odds
  20. War of 1812 – Why It Still Matters | Exploratorius
  21. Daily Prompt: Against All Odds | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  22. Road to Regionals: Finale | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  23. And He Scores!! | Cancer Isn’t Pink
  24. This Man is an Island. | L5GN
  25. Minutely Infinite | Facing The Music
  26. DON’T PRESS YOUR LUCK | SERENDIPITY
  27. Measles | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  28. Daily Prompt: Against All Odds | A Day In The Life
  29. Daily Prompt:Against All Odds / choose the fish bowl wisely… | Louie Behogan
  30. Beautiful Bermeo | Life is great
  31. The Scholarship I Almost Won Might Help Me Change The World
  32. The League of Monsters that Never Was | Green Embers
  33. The Trials and Travails of Caleb Clark . . . Will He or Won’t He? (Short Fiction) | meanderedwanderings
  34. Hold On To Your Dreams | Flowers and Breezes
  35. Daily Prompt: Against All Odds | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  36. Over the Hill and through the barriers | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  37. Longshot | The Land Slide Photography
  38. Of High School and Curtain Calls: When reality far exceeded the drama on stage | Quite Callipygous
  39. Me Out Of Me! | Views Splash!
  40. Keep Feeling Sorry and Carry On | Standing Ovation, Seated
  41. against all odds | klstar2000
  42. Against All Odds | The Nameless One
  43. lefty’s left arm broke | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  44. Fighting the Odds (Womanly Problems) | The Shotgun Girls
  45. Daily Prompt: Being Rushed! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  46. Romeikes are in. Yes. | Home’s Cool!
  47. Jesus poses under the Bodhi Tree | The Salmon Yatra

 


Discover more from The "Untitled Project"

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

10 responses to “Against all odds we gave people a place to heal”

  1. I think as long as you enjoyed doing it. it was a great thing to do.

  2. […] Against all odds we gave people a place to heal | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Pro… […]

  3. […] Against all odds we gave people a place to heal | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Pro… […]

  4. […] Against all odds we gave people a place to heal | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Pro… […]

  5. […] Against all odds we gave people a place to heal | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Pro… […]

  6. […] Against all odds we gave people a place to heal | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Pro… […]

  7. […] Against all odds we gave people a place to heal | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Pro… […]

  8. […] Against all odds we gave people a place to heal | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Pro… […]

  9. […] Against all odds we gave people a place to heal | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Pro… […]

What do you think?

Trending