After high school, in 2005, I moved from South Dennis, Massachusetts (a fishing port on Cape Cod) to Albuquerque, New Mexico (A city in the middle of the south west desert). Almost exactly seven years later, I moved back. And that is when shit got weird.

When I first moved to Albuquerque I was starting school and I was so wrapped up in my work on the football team that the climate of the south west wasn’t so daunting. The new landscapes and the new people were fresh and engaging and I found myself constantly extending beyond my comfort zones and developing as a person. When I moved back to Cape Cod it didn’t have the same effect.

I remember coming home and feeling as if I was in a dream. It was as if a scene in The Matrix or Inception was lifted from the screen and I was walking the halls of my own subconscious. The houses in my neighborhood looked fake, the locales in my town seemed like lifted relics and the people in my life, albeit warm and comforting in reality, felt distant.

The reason I jumped on to this prompt the instant I read it is because I constantly found myself describing how I was adapting moving back to Massachusetts as “surreal” when people inquired about the subject. In particular, there was a family event in which I actually had to describe the definition of surreal in order to get my point across. I guess that is why it is so tangible to me.

Check out what other people wrote:

  1. Karma For a Lapsed Veggie | AS I PLEASE
  2. Mad Hatter and I | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Ecclesiastical rocket | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Lime Plant in White | Exploratorius
  5. Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  6. Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone- The Psychological Fact of Living | Journeyman
  7. Coffee Neurotics Seem To Find Each Other and The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  8. The Twilight Zone | Hope* the happy hugger
  9. Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone | Under the Monkey Tree
  10. Wholesale Hot Dogs | the intrinsickness
  11. Surreal journey: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  12. Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone | The Wandering Poet
  13. Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  14. fandom | yi-ching lin photography
  15. DP Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone | Sabethville
  16. IN THE ZONE AND OUT AGAIN | SERENDIPITY
  17. in concert, there ought | y
  18. The Truth About Motherhood | theempathyqueen
  19. Pushing forty, going on sixteen… most of us anyway. | thoughtsofrkh
  20. Drunkenness Adventures | Knowledge Addiction
  21. You will meet a tall, dark, handsome stranger- again | Suddenly Single in Marin
  22. Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone | SURREAL | nomadofwoods
  23. Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  24. Twilight Zone meets Logan | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  25. Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone | A Day In The Life
  26. One Crazy Mom » Living In A Haze
  27. The Santa in Derby UK | Le Drake Noir
  28. For E., With Love and Make-up | Kosher Adobo
  29. 270. Train Rush | Barely Right of Center
  30. Twilight Zone | The Silver Leaf Journal
  31. The Daily Post: Twilight Zone – Revelation | growinolder
  32. Surreal (Short story) | A mom’s blog
  33. The Cruelty of Time | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  34. Chaffinch | Writing and Works
  35. Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone « Mama Bear Musings
  36. Episodes of Serenity | My Musings | WANGSGARD
  37. Daily Prompt/ Twilight Zone? | Sitting on the Porch
  38. Get Transported. How? Finding Awe | Emotional Fitness
  39. Daily Prompt: The Twilight Zone | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  40. DP: Surreal | As I See It
  41. Twilight Moments (Daily Prompt Challenge) | Ana Linden
  42. In the Nick of Time. | jwdwrites
  43. Daily Prompt: Twilight Zone | Indira’s Blog
  44. Time Warp | Views Splash!
  45. The Quickest Way To The Twilight Zone Is By Bus… | Steve Says…
  46. This is Not a Pipe | jigokucho
  47. The Twilight Zone | melissuhhsmiles
  48. Secret Jellyfish World | Wright Outta Nowhere

 

 


Discover more from The "Untitled Project"

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

10 responses to “Moving back home will make anyone feel as if they’ve entered a 1950’s pod people movie.”

  1. I sort of get this feeling when I go into town when I’m back from university. I feel so removed from what was once very familiar.

    1. It’s weird isn’t it? It’s almost like rereading a chapter of a book.

  2. […] Moving back home will make anyone feel as if they’ve entered a 1950′s pod people movie. | The Bo… […]

  3. […] Moving back home will make anyone feel as if they’ve entered a 1950′s pod people movie. | The Bo… […]

  4. […] Moving back home will make anyone feel as if they’ve entered a 1950′s pod people movie. | The Bo… […]

  5. […] Moving back home will make anyone feel as if they’ve entered a 1950′s pod people movie. | The Bo… […]

  6. […] Moving back home will make anyone feel as if they’ve entered a 1950′s pod people movie. | The Bo… […]

  7. […] Moving back home will make anyone feel as if they’ve entered a 1950′s pod people movie. | The Bo… […]

  8. […] Moving back home will make anyone feel as if they’ve entered a 1950′s pod people movie. | The Bo… […]

What do you think?

Trending