The following was written for the wordpress post a day series.

If you could take a break from your life and go back to school to master a subject, what would it be?

I think I am already doing this. Well, I don’t know if that is entirely true. See I have been in and out of school since I was 18. It’s not like I had this profound career and went back to add some semblance of versatility. I’m still trying to get the credibility of that first thing.

Right now I am finishing up my English degree. People have to see that piece of paper in order to know that I write good words and junk. So, once I finish that, I think I can think about what I would go back to school and find another thing to work towards.

Currently I am telling myself that after the bachelor’s degree is done, I will work towards a Master’s immediately thereafter. I’m just not sure in what, though. Part of me says Social Media Journalism, while another part says Social Media Marketing (So I become a bit more diversified). Then there is another aspect to me that says Creative Writing is a road I should look to travel down. I think the truth is I will just jump into the program that is first to accept me.

I don’t think I will never really leave school so I don’t know if I will ever have the opportunity to go back to it. I’d like to always keep learning. The whole Socratic environment is kind of comforting to me – familiar. While that may be because I have been pursuing my first degree (the associates doesn’t count) for the better part of a decade, I think, like I said, it is more centered in the need to keep learning.

 


Discover more from The "Untitled Project"

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

One response to “Daily Prompt: Back to School”

  1. […] Daily Prompt: Back to School | “The Ish,” presented by the Bohemian Rock Star […]

What do you think?

Trending