Question:

You’ve been accepted as an English teacher! Congratulations! What’s next for you?

Answer:

Read.

I got my book list last night and it has seven titles:

  1. The Color of Water – James McBride
  2. A Raisin in the Sun – Lorraine Hansberry
  3. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest – Ken Kesey
  4. The Scarlet Letter – Nathaniel Hawthorne
  5. The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
  6. Huck Finn – Mark Twain
  7. Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger

Instant takeaways:

Gatsby!!!!!! Fitzgerald’s classic has always been a favorite of mine and if I had to pick from the list and go give 40 minutes on it tomorrow, that’s the book. Twain’s Finn would be next. I’ve always thought of the book as the first American epic – a sprawling adventure that provides loads of commentary on then-contemporary society. After that would have to be One Flew – and that’s simply because I spent sooooooo much time with it during my fiction and film class at SNHU.

The last four are a mix and match of things I’ve heard of, things I’ve stayed away from, and things I’ve always wanted to read. Catcher in the Rye is something I may have read when I was in High School, but I simply cab’t place any salient details besides the things that are in the popular canon. The Scarlet Letter is the Hawthorne piece I’ve stayed away from in the past, simply because everyone seems to read it or have read it (I’m much more of a Young Goodman Brown fan, even though it’s a short). Hansberry’s book is something I’ve heard of but know nothing about. And the McBride piece is something completely knew to me.

Obviously in my prep I am going to start with Gatsby first. Mainly I just want to read it. But I also think it will be that first step into the pool that makes me belly flop the rest of the way in. After that, I’ll probably hit them in order how they will be taught (although I might push Finn to the end – save the second best for last).

Well, I am off to spend the rest of my night going through the piles of course materials I now get to engage with. It will be fun though. I’ve been waiting for my first English gig for awhile.

Anyhow, Cheers!

(The whole Cheers thing still sounds weird. IDK if I can pull it off)

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

One Comment on “Suddenly, I have homework

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

