A week ago, three weeks ago, by the time this will be published, I told myself I would use my prep time in subbing periods to do a little reading. I’m happy to say, I actually did a little bit:

  • The first thing I read, or re-read, this week was an essay by Leslie C. Dunn titled: “Ophelia’s songs in Hamlet: music, madness, and the feminine”. I bought the book Embodied Voices: Representing female vocality in western culture specifically for the Dunn essay so I could use it as a source in my paper on Ophelia’s place in Hamlet. It was nice getting a chance to go over it, as when I first read it I was trying to extract all the info I could in the effort to complete my essay. This time, it was nice getting a shot to take a longer consideration of the themes she presented. In short, Dunn looks at the role the songs Ophelia sings as a sign of communication rather than simply a result of the madness to which she is often relegated. It’s a cool mix of post-structuralism, french feminist theory, and other modern practicums that takes a new look on the classic. If that type of thing interests you, I definitely suggest a look.
  • Hemingway’s letter to his parents while in the hospital. I love Ernest Hemingway for many reasons. The anthology I took with me during the week had that letter and the Snow of Kilimanjaro (classic, btw), both of which I have read a couple of times in the past. I paid a little more attention to the letter this week because I wanted to take a long look and see what of his style was present in the letter. Obviously the way he creates an aesthetic is present, with clear simple imagery. This week I’m going to look for a couple copies of the novels and see what comes out of spending some time with them.
Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

