I told myself at the beginning of the year I would get on here and do a daily journal. Something to get on and stay writing while I am out of a program and in the middle of focusing on other things. But tomorrow became the next day, and the day after that, and nearly two months later.

Yet, here I am.

There are a lot of balls up in the air for me at the moment. The results from my last teaching certification test come Friday. Providing I passed that I can FINALLY apply for certification to be a teacher in Massachusetts – which means I can get a decent job and being to have, what you might call a “Life” (I’m not sure if that’s how it’s pronounced). My M.A. came in the mail, which was a super-fulfilling moment.

Been staring at this for a couple of minutes. I knew it was coming any day, but that doesnt take away the whole effect of it being here. … I keep going back to this bad day i was having, back in Albuquerque, after failing out of unm the first time and just generally being in a weird place. A lot of people told me just to get a job, that college might not be my thing, that i should consider the military (lol, in hindsight). I was in the parking lot of a plasma donation clinic when i looked up, caught my eye in the rearview mirror, and told myself that this if this was going to happen for me, it would be on me. Now, the road to here has taken a lot of twists and turns that i could write equally self-serving social media posts about. And i know that this is just the springboard to the next step (of which i think will happen very soon ;-)). But, for today, i am going to pour myself a drink, sit back, and know i accomplished one thing: I'm a MF Master. #english #snhu

A post shared by Nick Christian (@nick_christian_86) on

And as of a couple hours ago I finished my submission video for commencement speaker at the 2017 SNHU Graduate ceremony. Check that  out:

Plus I’m waiting on my welcome package from Sigma Tau Delta (an English Honor Society that I snuck into, thankfully, before my time at SNHU ended), just finished draft two of Not For Long (which I’ll probably use for another post later in the week), have been applying to a variety of different jobs (some of which I have interviews with this week) and am in consideration for a head coaching spot in the fall. It’s all a really deceiving amount of activity for someone who spends the majority of his time in front of a computer.

All the excuses now out of the way, here’s looking towards the future. Obviously I’m optimistic about the screenplay, but I’ve started looking to what my next thing will be once I push Not For Long however far it will go. I think I may have a book in me. I have a bunch of shorts and assorted poetry that I could string together into a collection. There are a couple of essays I wrote for lit classes that I’ve always been proud of and have thought about publishing. The bad thing about liking so many aspects of writing is having to commit yourself about what to do next. That, more than anything is my dilemma at the moment.

Nevertheless, we persist, right? I’m excited to get back on here and hopefully start doing the daily journals. I need to up my word output. I also look forward to focusing on doing a little more reading. I’ve been so wrapped up in those other things that I’ve stayed away from wordpress. Hopefully in this next venture I will find some new blogs.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

