Lucky number 13 of the reorg. This one is “Life of Pi”. I ended up buying it, if that tells you anything.

Life of Pi was visually stunning, shockingly character detailed and – quite honestly – a movie i look forward to seeing again.

With the way the entertainment society is constantly throwing visuals at the movie goer it is hard not to feel jaded going into a movie. Sometimes you feel like you’ve seen everything. Life of Pi was one of those movies where i kept saying “woah.”

Well, enough of the foreplay, what was the movie about?

“A young man who survives a disaster at sea is hurtled into an epic journey of adventure and discovery. While cast away, he forms an unexpected connection with another survivor: a fearsome Bengal tiger.” – Life of Pi synopsis on IMDB

Directed by Ang Lee (Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, Brokeback Mountain) and staring a bunch of people i never heard of, the story is encapsulating. From start – to finish i was in India. I was on the boat. I was with the Tiger. Movies don’t typically do that.

I didn’t expect the movie to take capture of me. It looked pretty going into it, I like tigers, so i figured why not. I guess that is why i reacted the way i did to it.

What i liked about the movie:

  • The story of the boy. The first couple scenes of the movie confused me because there were no scenes to justify them in the trailer (or at least that i saw going into it). The beginning of the movie justifies everything you see in the trailers and it really makes you root for Pi throughout the film.
  • The visuals. I mean, they are stunning. There is nothing more i really want to say about them. You have to see it. Even if you just stream it to your home. If you want Artistic eye candy this movie will satiate you.
  • The Tiger: I’ve always liked big cats.

What i didn’t like:

  • There wasn’t much. I mean, there are no glaring things i can remember at this point.

9

Something you should look for, if you decide to go see the film – which, at this point, i am urging you to – is the various Hemingway references or homages there are. Most are subtle, one is overt. It is  a nice touch.

Bottom Line:

Go buy the movie. It’s just a great story. If you love the art of story telling, you will love this movie.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

One Comment on “Review: Life of Pi

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

