Written 1/31/2013

For to the hungry Soul every bitter thing is sweet. A solemn sight methought it was, to see Fields of wheat and Indian Corn forsaken and spoiled: and the remainders of them to be food for our merciless Enemies. That night we had a mess of wheat for our Supper.’ – Mary Rowlandson: The Sovereignty and Goodness of God.

There is a duality in me regarding this quote. Part of me likes it because it resonated with my experiences. During my time attending college in New Mexico there where times when i was mercilessly poor and every bitter thing did taste sweet. Then there is the writer in me that screams when my eyes are subjected to the first line of this quote. I hate – and i cannot emphasize the vigor i use when i say hate – it when writers aesthetically alter their work to focus attention on a specific thought.Maybe this was her way of quoting the bible verse – i don’t know.  It has just always been my opinion that the clear formed words should tell the story.

The quote really resonates feelings of plight, that in extreme circumstances extreme action must be taken. There was a Seaseme Street movie in the 80’s called “Follow that Bird.” Big Bird is taken captive by an adoption agency and is forced away from Seaseme Street. Eventually he escapes and has to take extreme actions to avoid the people chasing him. While Rowlandson is a 17th century woman and Big Bird is an eight-foot two-inch yellow primrose, their stories share similarities such as being kidnapped by people unfamiliar to them, constantly traveling for fear of conflict, and a desperate yearning to not feel so alone.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

