Repeat series (I think we’re on day seven at this point) or reorg series, whatever I’m calling it. Argo was pretty good. I think  It won best picture. It wasn’t one of those flicks I had to watch again though. Anyways, check out the review:

I finally watched (or am watching as i write this) Argo tonight! I didn’t see the movie in theaters, however; I downloaded it from the PlayStation store for $4.00. How awesome is that? I would love it if you could download all new films straight to your home like that. I don’t think it will happen any time soon though. The movie theater industry would lose out big.

Anyhoo, enough about that. Let’s get the IMDB synopsis on this flick down so we can talk about it.

“A dramatization of the 1980 joint CIA-Canadian secret operation to extract six fugitive American diplomatic personnel out of revolutionary Iran.” – IMDB Synopsis on “Argo”

So that synopsis doesn’t give the entire feel for the movie. The way the CIA/Canadian’s attempt to get the fugitives out of Iran is by location scouting a fake movie in the country. Ok? Now that is established…

This movie was satisfying. The Ben Affleck directed movie was formed from an adapted screenplay based on Tony Mendez’s book “The Master of Disguise.” Simple logic dictates you know what is going to happen going into the film if the lead character writes a book about it afterward. Nevertheless, that doesn’t mean the movie is not worth watching. People spend inordinate hours watching “How (insert shit) is made” documentaries all the time. But this wasn’t that.

Argo, at its beating heart, is a superb character study of the six refugees an the people that got them back on U.S. soil. The relationships between the people that got the refugees out of Iran (and the refugees themselves, to an extent) were interwoven well and are well deserving of all best picture Oscar hype.

The cast was huge. Obviously there was Affleck, then there was Bryan Cranston, Alan Arkin, John Goodman, Victor Garber and Kyle Chandler – and that was just at a cursory recall. Outside of pointing out these actors for their names they all were staunch in establishing who and what their character was -and never braking from that.

Side Note: My Dad and my sister went to see Lincoln a couple of weeks back (I think it was a day or two after i saw Les Mis) and every time i have brought up the Oscars this week (because i have been trying to figure out a way to see the rest of the best picture noms before Sunday) he would tell me he loved Lincoln, that it was made very well, and if he had to find one fault with the film it would be that Tommy Lee Jones would do Tommy Lee Jones a little too much.

So why should you see this movie?

  • Witnessing the evolution of Ben Affleck: Dude has grown. I am a Kevin Smith fan and i remember Affleck in Mallrats. Who would have thought this guy would go on to have an impact on cinema like this? Is it his best directorial effort? No, I liked what he did in Gone Baby Gone more. Was it worthy of at least being nominated? Probably.
  • Alan Arkin: I find this guy delightful. He tells a story better than anyone. I am still laughing about his last scene with Ben. It was great writing if it wasn’t an adlib.
  • To look at how Affleck portrayed 1980’s Iran. There is one great shot where you just see feet walking over an american flag. According to this film (and many others) they hate us. I always wonder how much of those portrayals are editorializing view of middle eastern life.

Gripes on the film:

  • I don’t like the climax. It’s very fluid, which is an interesting, all be it nice, change of pace from many things you see. But something doesn’t feel right about it to me. Spend the $4.00, watch it on Amazon and holler back at me.
  • Some may find it slow. I didn’t. You have to go into the movie knowing what it is. If you are looking for gratuitous violence you won’t find it. What Affleck does – to his credit – is play with the impending threat of violence. Which, i guess, is a better story-telling technique in most cases.

Bottom line, go watch it. It’s well worth a rental and is the safe bet to win best picture. Although at this time i am still going with Les Mis (and i haven’t seen Silver Linings Playbook yet either).The movie, Argo, is a classic Hollywood film in the sense of its structure. Its place in Best Picture history will be determined Sunday night.

 

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

