I’m reorganizing my blog after getting some ideas from my latest Graduate class. Prior to picking this format I used to use pages, and now I want to organize solely by tag and category.  First up is a review of the awful “30 Minutes or Less” I did a while back. Check it out.

RATING:

“30 Minutes or Less,” gets 2.8 out of 5 stars

I want to tell a quick story before I go into this movie. I was walking home from the movie theater after seeing an early showing of the latest transformers movie and talking to my dad about the movie. I was doing my best to describe to him how the movie was until he stopped me mid-sentence and said, “Nick, whatever happened to it sucked or it was awesome?”

Those words stuck in my head as I watched this movie.

“30 Minutes or Less,” the recent Ruben Fleischer (“Zombieland”) directed film, sucked.

I do my best to find the good in films. I try to find the voice or the message, or, at the very least, what the filmmaker planned to be the entertaining aspect of said film.

It was fucking hard to do that with this film. The best way to describe “30 minutes or less” is calling it a B-rated 80’s movie about a slacker who gets a bomb strapped to his chest.

The movie starts off with Nick (Jesse Eisenberg) racing through the city, trying to deliver a pizza before it’s 30 minute window.

First off, when did it become ok for the protagonists of movies to become careless pizza boys again? That died in the eighties, much like the premise and appreciation of this movie (“30 minutes or less opened with a $13 million gross).

After failing to deliver the pizza in time, yet cleverly outwitting a pair of teenagers to give him the money anyways, Nick goes home and hangs out with his Teacher roommate Chet, played by Aziz Ansari.

Meanwhile, somewhere in the city, Dwayne and Travis (Danny McBride and Nick Swardson), dissatisfied with their lives, conjure up a plan to kill The Major (Fred Ward), Dwayne’s father who has considerable lotto winnings. They decide to force someone to rob a bank for them.

Soooo, Dwayne and Travis go in to the city junkyard, order a pizza, and then forcibly strap a bomb to – surprise – Nick, their pizza boy.

“30 Minutes or Less” is a buddy comedy about two pairs of people that are hard to care for. There is the slacker and the sometimes harsh teacher, and then there are the out-of-work leeches, feeding on their father.

The movie is funny. There are parts where it could be argued Ansari is this summer’s Zach Galafanakis, but ultimately, the movie is just boring. It’s full of things you’ve already seen.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

