A couple of days ago, after I finished writing the Birdman review, I told myself that I was going to go upstairs and re-watch “The Grand Budapest Hotel”. I had bought it last spring and really enjoyed the times I watched it prior to the summer. But when I went upstairs to give it a viewing, I remembered Game of Thrones’ season 4 was available to download. Suffice to say, I haven’t gotten a chance to watch Wes Anderson’s (who directed the movie) film again.

Game of Thrones was dope though. Just an FYI.

So, as this review is concerned, I am only going to go with some basic takeaways. Here we go:

The story: I enjoy Wes Anderson movies. From Bottle Rocket to The Royal Tenenbaums to Moonrise Kingdom. I’m a fan. I love his aesthetic, his tone, and the humor in the dialogue. The Grand Budapest Hotel, on any of those levels, didn’t disappoint.  The plot is fairly simple, the story follows the memories of one man’s (Zero/Mr. Moustafa – played by Tony Revolori and F. Murray Abraham, respectively)  youth at the Grand Budapest Hotel, his relationship with his boss/mentor M. Gustave (played by Ralph Fiennes), and his romance with a local baker’s assistant named Agatha (Saoirse Ronan). Take a look at the trailer:

Who doesn’t enjoy a good murder mystery/epic?

The acting: Did you look at the list of actors at the end of the trailer? All of Wes’ friends came out for this one. My favorite performance comes from Fiennes, who’s M. Gustave is a perfect Wes Anderson character. Take a look at his first interaction with Zero, I love the way he processes the things Zero is telling him and interacts with everything else going on in the lobby:

The cinematography: One of my favorite parts of the film is the contrasts in location. The old hotel versus the young hotel, the jail versus the open mountains and country side, the film does a great job of integrating different locations and allowing the locations to have a subtle impact on the characters. Pretty much, they all look really cool:

Should you watch it? Yes. If for one reason: It’s different (a point brought up in this The New Yorker piece). If you want a to spend an afternoon watching a good story, one that isn’t a bio-pic or a political platform piece, this is it.

 

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

