2014, in many ways, was a good year for me. I finally graduated and got my B.A., I got to continue to work as a assistant football coach – which oddly allowed me to get much better at Adobe Premiere, and I got to spend more time with my parents, who are awesome.

2014 was the year I got into an honor society, which is something I never thought of nor anticipated ever really wanting. But I’m really glad I did it. The certificate from it is in my first plaque. I didn’t even get a plaque for my associates degree. I never thought I could feel so much pride from wood and glass.

DSC09051

 

I normally hate reflecting. Not because I don’t like gloating – I do – but I don’t normally like to evaluate where I am. I have trouble with that. Sometimes it reinforces my mortality, other times it can be depressing – I think anyone can say that about themselves. As I sit here, on the first day of 2015 (and technically the day after my birthday – even if the 24 hour period is up), I’m thinking about what I want out of next year. This year. And how I should attempt to get it.

In 2015 I want to work on the following:

  • My health:
    • Everyone says this fucking goal and I probably would never lead with it if it wasn’t for one thing. I’ve had a toothache that has wrecked me for about the last week. I need to fix it. I need to fix, multiple things with my mouth, actually. I waited too long to take this seriously and right now it’s all I can think about resolving.
    • Part two of this is the line item on everyone’s New Year’s Resolutions: Lose Weight. I can say so many things about weight and me. I’ve been struggling with it my entire life. One year I’ll weigh 250, the next I’ll be at 185. During the last couple of years I’ve been in the higher range (In full honesty, my highest range) and I don’t want to be this weight anymore. For awhile I rationalized my weight, like many people do: I emphasized my other traits and used that as a means to justify myself and my actions. Put simply, I desire to be someone I used to me. I think I can do that this year.
  • Grad School:
    • I’ve made it pretty clear on here that I want to go to The University of Kent (in Canterbury, London) during the fall of 2015. I’m working on app more this weekend and hope to get into the next process by early next week.
    • A backup to this is to apply for grad school at SNHU. With my GPA at the school I don’t see why I couldn’t get in.
  • Job
    • I need a gig. Recently I applied to a reporter position but I don’t know if that will work out. The odds of them hiring someone right out of school is probably pretty low. I’ve had some inquiries about doing videos like the above, but nothing has turned out from that yet either. If good things come with time, the clock started a couple of weeks ago.
  • Love
    • Doesn’t everyone want to get fucked?
  • Love (seriously)
    • I think this is one of those situations in which A + B + C = D.

I don’t know if there is anything else I can put on the list. Ever since I completed SNHU I’ve been ruminating on what I want from life. A lot of people end college and say they are going to get “X” job in “X” city, or do something great for the people in their community. No part of me really feels that way about anything right now. I have things I like to do and life goals I would like to hit. But there isn’t a marker right now. There is no road sign with a definitive next step. All I want right now is to do something I can be passionate about. Can anyone really ask for anything more?

2015 will be the year I get my groove back. The year I figure out the next road to take. 2015 will be the year I find passion.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

One Comment on “A look at 2014 and 2015

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

