I shift between three places in my writing: My room, the living room and the kitchen table. All of them have their positives and negative:

  1.       My room, which I’m writing in now, is isolated from the rest of the house. I can have additional entertainment playing and keep the area at a temperature of my liking. The fallback is all the extra entertainment. It can be hard to keep focus with gaming devices, movies and other electronics near my fingertips.
  2.       The living room, which I wrote in for a long time, is very open and has a nice energy to it. I can see outside and get to experience the sun. The negatives reside in having to sit at the couch. Ever lean over and type for six to eight hours? It hurts. Plus the cat and dog jump all over me.
  3.       The kitchen, which was always my change up from the living room, is stable and organized. It has nice lighting, a good seat and in the line of sight of most rooms in the house (gotta have good flow, right). The bad part of the kitchen is I’m more subject to have people wanting to talk to me when I write there. There is nothing worse than having someone break your rhythm once you get going.

I’m making more of an effort to write in my room this term and it is a bit nicer to have the visual reinforcement of the computer in my room. To see it there I know I have to write. While that hasn’t been an issue for me as much this year (I made a New Year’s resolution to stick to a schedule), procrastination can always creep up on me. So it’s nice to have it in there – even when I take an entertainment interlude.

I find myself writing a lot more verse in my room. Maybe because it’s more of an intimate setting? I’m not really sure. My prose (Fiction/playwriting/screenwriting) came more easily downstairs. It felt more like I had to get things done down there. It kind of became my defacto office which allowed me to make my bedroom a relaxed room. I’ve scheduled a time to write my installment later today (I figure that will make me sit down in my room and get it done) and that works for me.

Check out what other people did for this post:

  1. tuckedintoacornerWriting Environments
  2. Basically Beyond BasicWriting Space
  3. The Floral BunnyWhere Do I Write My Posts?
  4. The WordPress C(h)ronicleWriting Space
  5. gut honest faithIn my sweat
  6. Escape from ChaosMy Favorite Writing Spaces
  7. Dirt RoadWriting Space – In my room in solitude
  8. the FLAVORED wordI too could use a room of my own …
  9. Writing Space |
  10. cockatooscreechingDP: Writing Space
  11. ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!Writing Space: the in-between states of nature. Daily Prompt. Rethymno
  12. dx0330’s BlogWriting Space
  13. The life of TA space in which to free the mind
  14. بيسانMy Writing Process
  15. lifelessons – a blog by Judy Dykstra-BrownBed Head
  16. lifelessons – a blog by Judy Dykstra-BrownBed Head
  17. The PageWhere do you write best? #DailyPost
  18. JourneymanWriting Space- Mindfulness Practice and Writing/living
  19. bodhisattvaintrainingfavourite position?
  20. joatmon14A writing environment
  21. A Penny For Her ThoughtsWriting Space
  22. A Little FluffWhere I Write – or Don’t
  23. Understanding and Embracing DiversityCosta Coffee – My Favourite Writing Space
  24. Nilesh PrajapatiQuietly Writing
  25. wandering story tellerWhere the ink flows (or the binary)
  26. Being CatholicEvery Place, and No Place
  27. RelaxDecisions, decisions
  28. Call Me KeiraWriting Space
  29. StructuresPrison break
  30. Chronicles of an Anglo SwissWriting Space – no problem
  31. Melissa HoldenWriting Space – Daily Prompt
  32. falling leaves as they comewriting space; living in place
  33. SERENDIPITYTECHNOLOGICALLY UNTETHERED
  34. Prairie ViewsWrite Here
  35. Tribal ConnectionsWriting Space – Creative Spark (daily prompt)
  36. Under the Monkey TreeStill in My Head
  37. Pippakin Talks Cats, Dogs, Teeth and Clawshttp://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/writing-space/
  38. Flowers and BreezesMy Own Space
  39. Active Army WifeDesk, Coffee, and Quiet!
  40. Musings&RantsMy Cave of Inspiration
  41. God, Nature, School and MoreWhere I write…
  42. tyastlc : my thought and my feelingWriting Space
  43. Where you will find me when I’m “writing” |
  44. The Wandering PoetDaily post – Writing
  45. TyroCharmTake the Plunge
  46. Duniya KuWriting Space:
  47. The Two ThousandsWriting Place: The Daily Post Challenge
  48. AlittlebitofEverythingMy favourite writing space..
  49. Awake & DreamingWherever I May Blog
  50. Maria Lucia RiccioliWriting Space
  51. Writer WormieBest places to write: Fantasy and reality
  52. idleandbored2Writing Space
  53. SoliloquiesAnatomy of a Writer
  54. LifeThe Fussy Writer
  55. sawyer sundriesPostaday: Daily Prompt
  56. The “Feel-good” Songs Challenge – Day 28My Love
  57. fakedoc101’s BlogWriting is Experssing.
  58. JestPostWriting Space – Ideal environment for creativity.
  59. undefined by design
  60. Brome HillWhere is Brome Hill?
  61. Barryjack’s PlaceWriting Space
  62. agonyandecstacySaying No to Comfort Zone
  63. All Things Cute and BeautifulBeing Inspired!
  64. DestinoI Need Space: Daily Post
  65. Traveling SeedsLast Minute Genius
  66. chris gazingA space of one’s own
  67. Kate MurrayMy space
  68. Morrighan’s MuseAnywhere I Can
  69. The Zombies Ate My BrainsMisophonia
  70. FictionalismTime to write
  71. From Balderdash To Epiphany.Where Write Is Right
  72. Artes del VientoEverywhere
  73. Mere ThoughtsThe Talent of Varanasi
  74. RepressdWhere I Write
  75. Kawanee’s KornerWhat I need to do my writing..
  76. Robert JepsonWrite Place
  77. Let the Balloons Sail Me AwayDaily Post – Writing Space
  78. Dant3’z ChallengeWriting Universe
  79. vic briggsPhoenix
  80. Barbara PyettSilence:
  81. eastelmhurst.a.go.gothe sounds of silence
  82. SynchronicityWriting Sarcophagus
  83. A Bipolars WritingsLaLa Land
  84. A rattling good storyWriting Space
  85. WyrdwendWHERE AND HOW DO I BEST CREATE?
  86. Writing on the SpotWriting Space
  87. Pencil NibblerThe Writer’s Space
  88. strangelyrandomthoughtsSafe Spaces and Creativity
  89. katesclippingsA Pen and some paper
  90. Views Splash!The Perfect Thing
  91. New BeginningsIt’s the Thought That Counts
  92. thinking out loudDouble Feature
  93. strangelyrandomthoughtsSafe Spaces and Creativity – take-two
  94. TheGEorgIApRncESsWriting Space
  95. Daily PromptWriting Space
  96. Fine PrintAny place but here
  97. Life’s Journeys UnfoldingWriting Space – Anywhere
  98. YogunPoetryWriting Space
  99. Hot cup of KaapiDaily Prompt : Writing space
  100. Clyde LiedDaily Prompt – Writing Space
  101. A lot from LydiaI Wait, Therefore I Write
  102. Jottings and Writings#DailyPrompt: Writing Space
  103. Longish Staves of ProseI think too much
  104. from dusk to dawn….A writing place…
  105. Emilia SimonWriting Space
  106. A Word AdventureWriting Space ~ Anywhere Can Do
  107. OSuzyQuilts, Free-motion Quilting and MeanderingsSpace to write
  108. adorablyobnoxiousDaily Prompt – Writing Space
  109. Duke StewartThe Space and Tools to ply this trade…
Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

