Prompt:

Team USA is playing today in the soccer World Cup in Brazil. Do you have any funny/harrowing/interesting memories from a sporting event you attended, participated in, or watched?

Me:

I think the best way for me to do this prompt is to give you my ten most interesting memories of sporting events I’ve participated in:

  1. Walking two miles in snow to get to a New England Patriots game. The stadium had been hit with a blizzard the night before and the stadium crews couldn’t get all of the parking next to the stadium available in time. My dad and I found a business right off the highway and trekked to the stadium. I practically ran there. The funny part though, is when I got there. I realized my dad had my ticket! The game itself was actually a pretty memorable Patriots game. It was the game where Tedy Bruschi picked off a pass and ran it back causing everyone in the stadium to throw snow in the air simultaneously. We were walking in just as it happened.

    (This isn’t that play, but it’s from the same game)
  2. My first Red Sox game: My first Sox game came in 2002 (I think). We got there late because we couldn’t figure out the roads around Boston. All I remember is driving around and around trying to figure out the way in. Wakefield pitched against the oriels. He lost, I think. My biggest takeaway was being in the stadium when Sweet Caroline came on. There’s no other feeling quite like that.
    Boston Strong
  3. (This next one is a little graphic, just an fyi) My dad and I got tickets to a divisional round playoff game against the Titans (I think it was the year of the Patriot’s second Super Bowl). The game was incredibly cold – I believe the wind chill was in the negatives at some point. And while trying to stay warm in the nose bleeds was something I vividly remember, the big bullet point came from after the game. We were sitting in the car, waiting to get out of the stadium, when a woman in the car in front of us gets out of her car, takes her pants off and changes her tampon. It still ranks as one of the weirdest sequences of events I’ve ever seen at (or around) a sporting event).
  4. (also a teeny bit graphic) When I was with the University of New Mexico we played a game at the University of Texas El-Paso. I think it is always going to have a place in my head because it was my first away game. Aside from the first game significance, we also crept over the border and drank in Juarez for a good portion of the night. That weekend had my first away game and my first donkey show. Bunch of firsts.
  5. One more from UNM Football: We played a game at the University of Arizona and the whole experience was pretty dope. The hotel was amazing and the stadium was insane. I remember it being a rain storm for the majority of the game. Interesting full circle note: In 2007 a young Rob Gronkowski was a freshman at the University of Arizona.
  6. Something I will always remember is the first game I covered at the Albuquerque Isotopes when I was with the Central New Mexico Community College newspaper. The Isotopes are a AAA affiliate in Albuquerque and that was my first taste of what being a sports reporter was like. The view from the press box was one of my favorite things in all of Albuquerque.
  7. This kind of falls under the same scope as #6 but when I covered my first game at The Pit (UNM’s basketball arena) I had a lot of the same feelings. Coming out from the tunnel and walking around the court pre-game was one of the coolest experiences I’ve ever had.
  8. Ty Law’s three interception game against Manning in the AFC Championship game. I was there. And it was awesome.
  9. Being from Massachusetts from 2001 to 2012/2013. Everyone won a championship. That never happens anywhere. Any where. I just hope the rest of my teams are not doomed to suck for the rest of my life.
  10. My first win as an assistant coach last season. Workouts for the high school team I work with start next week and I am reminiscing a bit about last year. I prepped my ass off going into that game and we handled our opponent. That was a really cool feeling.

Check out these people’s sports memories here:

  1. Perspectives on life, universe and everythingOn the hook
  2. Perspectives on life, universe and everythingDance
  3. JourneymanOffside Memories: Psychologycal Analysis of Similarities
  4. Under the Monkey TreeNo More Baseball Games
  5. The Wandering PoetDaily post – Sport
  6. The Jittery GoatWho Cares About FIFA World Cup?
  7. The Wandering PoetA journey begins..proud eagle..
  8. Nilesh PrajapatiSuarez’s folly
  9. The WordPress C(h)ronicleOffside Memories
  10. lifeassirliMemories from Sport
  11. gut honest faithWorld Cup Final 2006
  12. A Penny For Her ThoughtsOffside Memories
  13. dx0330’s BlogOffside Memories
  14. Beefy’s House o’ FunOffside Memories
  15. DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on SocietyFIFA World Cup: Gillette Missed This Sponsorship Opportunity
  16. lifelessons – a blog by Judy Dykstra-BrownJock Balk
  17. asterretha d.run, devil, run
  18. Linda Maye AdamsTake me out to the Dodgers game
  19. agonyandecstacyCricket is Our Religion and Sachin is Our God!
  20. wandering story tellerLook out for the ball! Oops…!!
  21. The Floral Bunny6 Reasons Why I Hated Gym Class
  22. bohemiangypsyfemale fan (daily prompt)
  23. I’m a Writer, Yes I AmWalking
  24. A Slice of Life
  25. Not a Punk RockerBeautiful Sunday
  26. A Little FluffA Fun Time at the Assembly Hall 1969
  27. The Land Slide PhotographyWinning It All
  28. Love Happy Notes – Daily Fun and InspirationTwo of us
  29. Speculative Paradigm ShiftsSleeper
  30. Pony CarThe bull who refused to die – or My First Day in Barcelona: leaving Monumental
  31. Chronicles of an Anglo SwissOffside Memories – West Ham United and/or Leyton Orient
  32. Life’s Journeys UnfoldingOffside from a Hater of Sport Always Offside
  33. Wake Up Your LuckChampionship Point
  34. Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’sGo Team!
  35. The Football (Soccer) XChangeOffsides Memories
  36. SERENDIPITYTAKE ME OUT TO THE BALL GAME
  37. Prairie ViewsThe Other Stadium World
  38. Basically Beyond BasicOffside Memories
  39. A lot from LydiaCondensed For The Greater Good
  40. The Ravenously Disappearing WomanWhatcha eating? Um..er… I mean who’s playing?
  41. Be Less AmazingBall / Room Blitz
  42. Harty’s WorldOffside Memories
  43. Flowers and BreezesSeeing the Score
  44. The Misfits ClosetBleed Blue
  45. Stories and poetryoffside
  46. idleandbored2Offside Memories
  47. YogunPoetryOffside Memories
  48. Step by step, one post at a timeAy, it’s SUNDAY! 🙂 TFGSC – Day 22
  49. LenzExperimentsLife’s like That!
  50. left coast by designOnside Memories – Manchester City vs Whitecaps FC
  51. Barryjack’s PlaceForward?
  52. All Things Cute and BeautifulBeing Sporty!
  53. My WorldOffside Memories: My First Pro Game
  54. Jackie’s TravelsRed Light District
  55. by LRosePut me in coach, I’m ready to play (is something I never said)

 

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

2 Comment on “Offside Memories: My ten favorite sports memories

  1. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Offside Memories | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

