For years I have plagued my mother with half-assed gift cards, junk drawer destined trinkets and overwrought proclamations of love that typically are rushed. While my mom and I talk a lot I never have a solid idea of what she likes or wants which makes gift giving comparable to picking out a shirt after eye surgery. So, for a while, I had no clue what to do.

If there is anything I do well, it’s listen. I like to believe that I can pick up on things which is probably why I felt so natural as a reporter. If you can listen you can ask astute questions. I’ve been listening a lot in the past month and the one thing I kept hearing was my mom asking my dad to fix her hope chest (some people call it a hutch). I had a gift.

What had to be done with the chest was it needed to be sanded, refinished, the hinges needed to be cleaned, a coat of  polyurethane applied, and fixing the seat (the seat broke in half). While one of my dad’s friend’s fixed the seat, I did everything else. Here is what everything looked like when it first started:

And here is everything once I did the majority of what I talked about:

Once I stained it

Once I stained it

And fixed the hinges

And fixed the hinges

The fixed seat (and stained)

The fixed seat (although not stained or sanded in this picture)

The edges

The edges

And once it was all said and done and semi-dry (I may have rushed taking it home) I threw it in the back of my dad’s truck and brought it home (and I will link to a picture I am using for another post that shows me taking it back – once I write it).

Fast forward to today. I couldn’t get the back of my dad’s gate to go down so I had to wrap the thing in blankets in case of whatever. I woke up at 5:00 a.m. to a rain storm and had to replace the mash up of blankets, towels and and well-placed plastic.

As you can see, the first blankets/ towels and plastic I had were disheveled (although the plastic stayed in place well).

As you can see, the first blankets/ towels and plastic I had were disheveled (although the plastic stayed in place well).

Now, everything is set in place and hasn't moved (or rained much) since then).

Now, everything is set in place and hasn’t moved (or rained much) since then).

I really wanted to be able to bring it in the house and have it set up when her and my dad got home (they were away at a wedding for the night). Now I’m just waiting for them to come home so I can bring it inside.

I think this might be my most favorite idea for a gift for her.

 

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

4 Comment on “My Mother’s Day gift

  1. Pingback: On the move | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  2. Pingback: Three generations of art | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

