Right now I am going to school with Southern New Hampshire University (Here is the work I have done since I got there) and each semester we have to do things called an “Ice Breaker” post. The gist is to talk about yourself in an effort to get to know your class mates. I like to tell the story of how I got to the school because it really illustrates why I value it so much. Here is what I wrote for my lit class:

Hi guys!

My name is Nick Christian (please, Nick not Nicholas. I can’t go another semester being called Nicholas – it makes me feel like I’m getting yelled at). I like to relate my education career to Captain Ahab’s pursuit of Moby Dick. I’ve worked (off and on) for nine years pursuing my elusive bachelor’s degree and I will be thoroughly excited when I can stare at it face to face and know we are equals.

I’m a creative writing major, by the way.

I grew up in Massachusetts and graduated high school in 2005. I went to school at the University of New Mexico after high school and I loved it there. I worked on the football team and met so many different and cool people. Unfortunately my grades were never consistent at UNM and I was kicked out of there (for the last time) at the very end of 2008. My story gets a bit more interesting at that point (to me at least). I toiled away at a community college for a semester but then found an internship opportunity with Walt Disney World in Florida. So off I moved to the Kissimee/Orlando area.

I credit that internship as giving me a little clarity as to what I want from life and how hard I will have to work to get it. It sounds cliche, but I like to say I had a defining moment there. I finally understood I wanted to be a writer.

When I got back to Albuquerque I got a job on the community college newspaper as a reporter (I would later become EIC) and by the end of 2011 had my associates in Liberal Arts. Unfortunately UNM denied my re-admittance so I was forced with a choice: move to a different part of the state to continue my education career or just start working.

Luckily for me my parents came in with an offer I couldn’t pass up: If I moved back to Massachusetts they would cover my rent and food so long as I was in school. So that’s what I did. After seven years in the desert the prodigal son moved back to Cape Cod and enrolled in Bridgewater State University at the end of 2012.

I liked BSU. It was a great campus. The only issue I had is was it was a 1.5 hour drive to school. That was so taxing. If I had a 10:00 a.m. class I would have to wake up three hours in advance of it just so I could get there in time. My first couple of semesters there were great, but by last fall I just was sick of it. I moved back to MA to spend time with my family and the only constant was the time I spent in my car.

So insert SNHU. I’ve been with the school since January and I have loved it. My grades have spiked: I had a 3.85 at the end of my first term and have high A’s in both of my term 4 classes right now. This has been a great choice for me and I am actively excited for graduating in December and possibly grad school after that.

Spending nine years in English/writing programs I think I’ve read more books most sane people would care to read. To be honest I was a little surprised I had to take this course because I thought something would have transferred into this slot. But once I took a better look at the syllabus/course materials it seems like this is really focused more on eastern Europe, Russian and other texts like that. This class could be fun. I feel like I’ve gone through the ringer on American and western Europe texts so it will be nice to look at things that are new to me. I’m really excited to read Tolstoy. I bought Anna Karenina with a gift card for Christmas and haven’t read past the first couple of chapters. I think this will give me an excuse to do that.

I look forward to reading everyone’s stuff and opinions on various subjects. I feel like I’m always by a computer so if anyone ever needs a read through or an edit (I love reading other people’s stuff) just shoot me an email.

Have a great term!

The reason why I bring it up in relation to today’s prompt (go here to read it) is all of my past experiences in school and internships have led me to the place that I am at right now. This is my last shot. I have to ace it if I want to get where I want to go in the next stage of my life. My past failures are the foundation for my greatest successes. They aren’t things I have to hide. They’re resources. If I have learned anything it has been to embrace all parts of my life and use them to better my future.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

One Comment on “Baggage Check

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

