The Lie

I’m a writer. I have said that all of
My twenties. What have I written? I’m a
Writer. I say it to everyone I
Meet. What do you do? I am a writer.
It’s nice to meet you. You must make money.
Are your mom and dad proud? I’m a writer.
I write. It’s what I do. What have I writ-
ten? It’s who I am. I’m a writer.

The Truth

I haven’t written anything at all.
I do not answer when creditors call.
I hide in my room and turn off the lights
then play video games and sleep alone
most nights. I’m a writer. I write. I write
with words. I put pen to paper and make
phrases – phrases in fazes, amaze us,
Daze us, Gracious Phrases. I’m a writer.

The Future

I’m a writer. Thank you for stopping by.
How many books did you buy? Wow. I’m a
Writer. Next. Hi! You write? I write. Are you
A writer? Bye! Enjoy it. Write with words!
Be a writer. I’m a writer. We’re writers.
We write with words – that sounds absurd. But it
Isn’t. Because we’re writers. Next! Thank you!

I had so much fun doing NaPoWriMo this April. I haven’t done much experimental poetry this month and wanted to play with a thought I’ve been grappling with for my last one. I hope you liked it. I’ve loved this experience and getting the chance to meet new poets. I think I’ve become a better poet in the process and it’s nice to know I have that in my bag of tricks.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

4 Comment on “#NaPoWriMo2014 Day 30 “Catharsis”

  1. Pingback: My five favorite #NaPoWriMo posts | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

