Yesterday’s daily prompt was about who your teenage idol was and I am going to adapt that for my poetry submission today. I’m going to write about my teenage (and twenties) crush, Natalie Portman. Without further adieu, may I present, “An Ode to Natalie Portman.”

What can I say about my favorite
Actress? She made tap-dancing quite sexy,
swung on a pole for just a little bit,
Rapped on SNL like she was Weezy
and went to Harvard – which I find real cool
because smart, diverse women are awesome.
She’s a fair beauty with a sprightly
laugh and I loved her and Braff in the pool.
With each dream our love forever blossoms,
And that is not something I say lightly.

This is my ode to number one on my
list of five (don’t judge me, we all have one –
Five we can run away with if they’re by):
In high school is when my love first begun.
You made Star Wars quite watchable – even
if the movies ruined a whole franchise
in some people’s stark, crazy opinions.
I dreamed of a battle that I could win
or some sort of guise for me to surmise
and preach my love in big grand convictions.

Alas, my love will never be more than
a day-time fantasy. And that’s something
That I’m okay with.  There was no big plan
for this and  don’t want to end with nothing:
But Nat, you’ve given me a type to like
and I will measure all women against you
(Lucky them). I’m a fan and it’s not all
dirty – I really admire your fight,
your spirit and all the great things you do.
If you get a chance, I’d love a phone call.

Yep, let’s never talk about this again.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

One Comment on “#NaPoWriMo Day 25 “An Ode to Natalie Portman”

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

