She ordered a big piece of pie
and didn’t answer when asked why.
She sipped her coffee and looked out the window –
I began to wonder what I did do.

“Nothing is wrong” she protested.
“I just feel some what congested –
Like my life is closing in on me
And that I’ll never again be free.”

“Not that I hate this – I love you.
You’re the person I want to be next to.
But don’t you long for when the world was new?
Not just several shades of blue?”

“Maybe we can run away” I chirped.
She was so startled she burped.
“That would never work” she exclaimed.
“How would we become unchained?”

“What could they do if we just left?”
I said and added, “The rules aren’t that deft.”
She squirmed in her seat, Indulging in my retreat.
“We could beat their fiscal conceit.”

Her eyes met mine and our hands clasped on the pine.
She spoke first: “I want to go somewhere with wine.”
“The world is open to us,” I replied.
With that, our old world died.

We looked out the window once more,
Paid our bill and went for the door.
The air was warm upon our faces
and we ventured towards new places.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

2 Comment on “#NaPoWriMo Day 19 “Blue Pie”

  1. Pingback: My five favorite #NaPoWriMo posts | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

