This is the 10-minute play I am working on for my playwriting class at SNHU. I think this might be the actual legit final draft. I received some notes from my instructor on the last draft and changed a couple of things up in this one. I think it will play really well. Take a look (Formatting may have gotten messed up in the paste):

Scene One

 

Setting: Curtain

 

At Rise: Curtain does not rise. HAILEY walks to center stage from behind the curtain. He comes out from behind the curtain and addresses the audience.

 

HAILEY

I remember the first time I met ADAM. We were working at a gas station in what they now call the international district of Albuquerque. They call it the international district because the “war zone” wasn’t really a property seller. He was so nice. He wasn’t my type but I liked having someone that I could talk to like that. I hadn’t had that for the longest time. I needed him to balance out all the bad days. He was always there for me. He was my constant. Letting that go was so hard.

 

HAILEY walks away from the audience off stage right.

 

End of scene.

 


Scene Two

 

Setting: Albuquerque city street, night.

 

At the Rise: The curtain lifts to reveal five streetlights. Only the streetlight closest to stage left is lighted. ADAM and HAILEY’s voices are heard off stage.

 

HAILEY (off-stage)

Why can’t we just drive?

 

ADAM (off-stage)

Because it’s an adventure.

 

HAILEY (off-stage)

Adventures can be had in cars ADAM.

 

ADAM and HAILEY enter and stand at the first streetlight.

 

ADAM

Come on, It’ll be fun.

 

 

HAILEY

You always say that.

 

ADAM begins to walk to the second streetlight but HAILEY stands firm underneath the first light.

 

HAILEY

What are you doing?

 

ADAM

I, I don’t know. I thought you were behind me.

 

ADAM walks back to the first streetlight and stands next to HAILEY.

 

HAILEY

You were going to leave me.

 

ADAM

No, I thought you were next to me.

 

HAILEY

I wasn’t.

 

ADAM

I’m sorry. Like I said, I didn’t know.

 

HAILEY takes her hand off the light post and walks downstage between lights 1 & 2.

 

HAILEY

Can’t we stay here awhile? I want to look around.

 

ADAM

But what about our journey?

 

HAILEY

I thought it was an adventure.

 

ADAM

Aren’t they the same thing?

 

HAILEY (Ignoring his question)

Come here.

 

ADAM walks downstage to be next to HAILEY.

 

HAILEY

Dance with me.

 

ADAM

But there is no music.

 

HAILEY pulls ADAM close to her and ADAM puts his hands on her hips.

 

HAILEY

Do you really need music?

 

ADAM

I think I do.

 

HAILEY

What type of music would you like to dance to?

 

ADAM (jokingly)

I think I would find a nice samba pleasant.

 

HAILEY (laughing)

A samba? Really?

 

ADAM

MADAM, you did not establish any restrictions.

 

HAILEY

 

HAILEY adjusts her hands on ADAM’s body and begins to mimic the first couple of bars of a samba before an actual song can be heard by the audience. The couple dances for about 20 seconds before ADAM stops.

 

ADAM

Can you do a power ballad?

 

HAILEY

When did I become a juke box?

 

ADAM (playfully)

Why are you stalling?

 

Unwilling to lose the challenge, HAILEY forcefully pulls ADAM close to her and loudly sings the chorus from Foreigner’s “I want to know what love is,” while SOUNDS of PEOPLE walk by.

After a moment, HAILEY and ADAM walk a little further. They stop between the 2 and 3 light and ADAM leans down to tie his shoe.

 

ADAM (leaning down)

Hold on.

 

HAILEY stops and turns around to look at ADAM.

 

HAILEY

Do you have any regrets?

 

ADAM {rising)

Like serious regrets?

 

HAILEY

Just in general.

 

ADAM

I think everyone has some sort of regret in their life; things they wish they could have done differently or things they would do differently, if given the chance.

 

HAILEY

What would you have done differently?

 

ADAM

It’s silly to think of things like that. Let’s keep going.

 

HAILEY

I’m not going anywhere until you tell me.

 

ADAM

You just want to hear one of my long, sad stories.

 

HAILEY

No, that’s not it at all. I just want to know something new about my best friend for fucking forever.

 

ADAM

B4F?

 

HAILEY (Laughing, Exclaiming)

Yes! B4F. That’s a thing.

 

ADAM

That’s so not a thing.

 

HAILEY

It totally is.

 

ADAM

For 14 year old girls maybe.

 

HAILEY

You write sad stories like a 14 year old girl.

 

ADAM laughs but sulks for a moment thereafter. Seeing this HAILEY begins to closely examine ADAM.

ADAM (Confused)

What are you doing?

 

HAILEY (playfully poking and prodding)

Hold on.

She continues looking over ADAM

Ha!

 

ADAM

What?

 

HAILEY (While walking to the third lamppost)

You’re kinda fucked up, aren’t you?

 

ADAM (Slowly walking to catch up to HAILEY)

At least I gave you an honest answer. Don’t I get to ask you something now?

 

HAILEY swings around the middle lamppost with one arm.

 

HAILEY

Hmmm. I don’t know.

 

ADAM (almost playfully)

It’s only fair.

 

HAILEY (defiantly)

Not yet. One more question.

 

ADAM (amused)

What else do I have to tell you?

 

HAILEY

What would our life be like now had we stayed together?

 

ADAM beams with optimism at the question and walks to the fourth light.

 

ADAM (with certainty)

I think we’d be in Paris?

 

HAILEY (Laughing, indulgent)

Paris?

 

ADAM

Yes, Paris. I would spend my days writing in our apartment and you would wait tables at some street-side café. At night we’d walk the streets and make up stories about the stars.

 

HAILEY (Despondent)

Would we travel?

 

ADAM

Of course. We’d see Rome, Nice, London, Marseilles, Belgium, and Barcelona. We’d get so wasted in Amsterdam that we’d wake up in Warsaw with no clue how the fuck we got there.

 

HAILEY

What about the summers?

 

ADAM

We’d summer in Crete. We’d spend all day drinking wine and watching the boats. We’d try painting but would be so horrible that we would use the canvas just to cover up dart holes.

(MORE)

ADAM (Cont.) (Laughs)

Oh, and we’d play darts.

 

HAILEY gets visibly lost thinking about Crete. ADAM notices and walks back to HAILEY.

 

ADAM (waiving his hands)

Hey! Earth to HAILEY! Let’s get going.

 

HAILEY comes to and follows ADAM to the fourth light.

 

ADAM

You never did let me ask my question.

 

HAILEY (Stalling)

Where are we going anyways?

 

ADAM

Stop Stalling

 

HAILEY

It’s just that it’s getting cold.

 

ADAM

It’s August HAILEY. August.

 

HAILEY (Hesitantly)

Well, what do you want to know?

 

ADAM walks back and forth for a moment, doing his best to make it look like he is trying to think of a quality question. After a moment, his body straightens and he turns to HAILEY.

 

ADAM (Like he had been waiting to ask it)

Tell me about how you two met.

 

HAILEY’s head turns quickly.

 

HAILEY

You don’t want to know about that.

 

ADAM

Why would I ask if I didn’t want to know? We should be able to talk about this stuff now, right?

 

HAILEY

You just don’t ADAM. And I don’t want to talk about it. Let it be.

 

ADAM chuckles. HAILEY rolls her eyes in an apparent angst and walks to the fifth streetlight. After a moment ADAM recomposes and follows. HAILEY leans up against the fifth light bot doesn’t pass it.

 

HAILEY

I’m pregnant.

 

ADAM (Shocked, with sincerity)

Again?

 

HAILEY

Yeah, again.

 

ADAM walks beside HAILEY and sits on the ground. After a moment HAILEY sits down next to him.

 

ADAM

Wow. A second kid. It seems like we were just having this conversation about …

 

HAILEY (Cutting him off)

I know.

 

ADAM

Well, have you told him?

 

HAILEY

 

ADAM

Why not?

 

HAILEY

I don’t know.

 

ADAM

Are you going to?

 

HAILEY

 

ADAM

Isn’t it better if you tell him sooner?

 

HAILEY (Frustrated)

Of course it is ADAM. Things aren’t always that easy though.

 

ADAM

Aren’t things as easy as you make them out to be?

 

HAILEY (Sternly)

No! Sometimes things just are whatever they are.

 

HAILEY and ADAM sit in silence for a moment.

 

HAILEY

I’m tired.

 

ADAM

Come on.

 

HAILEY

I told him I’d be back twenty minutes ago.

 

ADAM

 

HAILEY

I have to go.

 

ADAM

We didn’t even get there.

 

HAILEY (Bluntly)

I don’t think I’m up for it tonight ADAM. I think I’m just going to go home.

 

HAILEY stands up and walks toward stage left. Each light turns on as HAILEY passes. ADAM rises to his feet just as she is about to exit.

 

ADAM

Are you sure you’re ok?

 

HAILEY (leaving)

I’m fine. I’ll talk to you tomorrow.

 

HAILEY exits stage left and ADAM watches her leave. He walks toward her for a moment but the lights don’t flick on as he walks. Eventually he is left in the dark in the middle of the stage.

 

End of scene.

 


Scene Three.

 

Setting: In front of Curtain.

 

At the Rise: HAILEY appears at the middle of the stage with the curtains closed behind her.

 

HAILEY

Adam and I didn’t talk much after that. We had to stop talking. He got busy with his job and I took a chance on someone and we had an excellent life together. We had two kids. We were a family. I loved him. It wasn’t idyllic – it was real. It was tangible and I didn’t think about it. I didn’t have to think about it. I wasn’t attracted to this conceptual notion – I was attracted to him. Adam never got that. I couldn’t wait for someone when I had what I already wanted. When I had people depending on me. Adam and I were just friends. That was it.

 

HAILEY walks behind the curtain.

 

CURTAIN

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

5 Comment on ““The Diaries of Hailey Harrison – Friendship”

  1. Pingback: Term four #SNHU grades are in! | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  2. Pingback: “The Diaries of Hailey Harrison: While we were gone” Scene one and part of two | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  3. Pingback: “The Diaries of Hailey Harrison: While we were apart” Second Draft | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

