Today’s daily prompt is about reflecting on something in your life you took a chance on and how it worked out for you. Whenever I think about the chances I have taken in my life, my internship with Walt Disney World jumps into the forefront.

I don’t want to say I was in a bad place in my life prior to Disney. It sounds too dramatic. There were plenty of other people in the world going through harder things than I was at that time. I was more at a cross roads than I was anything else. I knew the next steps I took would affect me for some time to come.

Prior to Disney I had been kicked out of University for the second time. I couldn’t go back for a year – If I ever figured a way to go back at all. People were questioning me. Who was I? Where was I going? One person close to me asked if college was something I was really meant to do. Those words have always stayed in my head.

Prior to Disney I was trying to salvage my academic career at the local community college. I didn’t have enough money for books. I’d walk into the bookstore with my phone and take pictures of pages so I could do my homework. I was holding on to every last thread of a chance that I had. All I needed was an opportunity.

I’ve written about how I came across the internship a couple of times. I was just walking by the cafeteria at the community college and they were having an information session. I poked my head in and it all snowballed from there. Two months later and I got the packet saying yes.

I rationalized the idea of an internship in Walt Disney World to everyone it affected. To my parents I said I needed a new start, that it would look good on a resume. To my roommates I said I would be back and that I would help out with rent from far away. The fact of the matter is I just wanted to do it. I needed a change. I needed a new me. I needed to be alone, on my own, and find myself again. I do the best when I am in that situation.

I could write about every little memory from Disney but the crux of the matter is Disney helped me reconstruct my work ethic and develop a sense of self. I grew to know who I was and what I wanted to stand for. That has helped me so much since then.

Check out what other people wrote for this prompt here.

 

 

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

3 Comment on “Why taking a chance on Disney was so important to me

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

