I am in the lucky opportunity where all I have to focus on right now is school. A little more than a year and a half ago I moved back to Massachusetts from Albuquerque, New Mexico because my dad gave me an out. I was living in Albuquerque, in a little hole-in-the-wall apartment and was faced with a reality: if I wanted to continue my pursuit of my bachelor’s degree I had to move. Initially I looked at a school a couple of towns over. There was a school I easily could have gotten in to but it would have meant finding a new apartment, job  and a way to get all my crap from Albuquerque to the other side of the state. Thankfully, that didn’t happen.

My dad told me my mom and he would take care of my room and board if I moved back up to Massachusetts to go to school. So I did. I had a multitude of other reasons for making the move, so it made sense.

School is my job for now. I guess I could be defined as a contract employee (who needs to find new work after December). I’m loving work right now. Going to school at an online school (the irony being I probably could have stayed in Albuquerque and done the same) suits me so well. I first went to a school an hour and a half away when I got here and it was the worst thing in the world. The drive took so much out of me on a day to day basis (especially after I got into an accident – a whole other story) and after awhile I just had to find something else. Going to school with Southern New Hampshire University (my new school) is awesome because my entire commute is walking down stairs from my room to my computer. I find that I am so much more invested in what I am doing. I’m paying much better attention to my work and I am succeeding in it (3.85 GPA). It’s the first time in awhile that I really feel optimistic in what I am doing and what the future holds.

So yeah, work’s good.

See what these people wrote for this prompt:

  1. Head in the water | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  2. TALL, DARK…AND BROKE | She Writes
  3. Hardship | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Professionalism – a day to day struggle | new2writing
  5. Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons- How to Wake Up with Enthusiasm Everyday! | Journeyman
  6. Working Girl | Never Stationary
  7. Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons | Basically Beyond Basic
  8. Daily Prompt and “Quack” (a beautiful short story) | The Jittery Goat
  9. Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  10. You Deserve a Better Job! | Lifestyle | WANGSGARD
  11. Farewell to Educational Arms: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  12. Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  13. across the city, | y
  14. DAILY PROMPT: But… IS it a job? | cockatooscreeching
  15. DP Daily Prompt: | Sabethville
  16. No, it’s not living the dream. But it pays the rent. No one else will. | thoughtsofrkh
  17. Loving your job! Bawdy Humour. Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  18. Sixteen Tons | fromdublintoparis
  19. Writing And Reviewing – Not Just A Job | My Little Avalon
  20. Why I wake | The River Mom
  21. Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons | wisskko’s blog
  22. When your job weighs you down: the psychology of saying no to your boss « psychologistmimi
  23. Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons of Bronze | My Outlook on the World
  24. Day after day I move on | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  25. Page not found | Knowledge Addiction
  26. Hi Ho Hi Ho, It’s off to work I go! | This and That
  27. A Thought About A Vocation | wisskko’s blog
  28. Occupational Contemplation | sherrylcook.com
  29. Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons | Here I am !!
  30. Daily Prompt; Sixteen tons | sixty, single and surviving
  31. Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons | Burning Imagination
  32. You’re a stay at home mom? So you don’t HAVE a job! | Blog is where the Home is
  33. In A Days Work | Real Life Co.
  34. Memories Fade Out | Flowers and Breezes
  35. Sixteen Tons : Daily Prompt | CaughtuProductions
  36. Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons « Mama Bear Musings
  37. Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons, 24.03.14 | Markie’s Daily Blog

 

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

8 Comment on “School is my job (for now)

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: You Grade 16 Tons and What Do You Get? | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  3. Pingback: Daily prompt: Work | The Wandering Poet

  4. Pingback: When It Comes To Work There Should Be One Word Above All Others – Respect | lynnesartandsoul

  5. Pingback: It’s a living | Mindful Digressions

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

