I now understand why Frozen was so big.

For the last three weeks, while I have been looking at movies to buy/rent so i could have something to review for this site, i have been looking at Frozen. This past Tuesday Disney finally made the movie open to rental and I gave in. I was going to figure out what this movie was all about.

And it was kind of glorious.

I’m probably going to buy it next week.

Part of me really likes Disney movies, and I intend to write about that later (a hyperlink will be inserted once I do), and I haven’t seen a Disney movie like this in awhile (although, I probably shouldn’t say that because I’ve missed both Brave and Tangled yet). I think the movie was shot beautifully, especially the earlier and later portions of the film. The songs were on point, with “Let it Go” winning the Oscar for Best Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures, Original Song. I even thought the story was fairly dynamic and that the actors did a fantastic job with their character (If you don’t love Kristen Bell you’re a communist, #justsaying).

The basic structure of the film revolves around the princess sisters Anna (Bell) and Elsa (Idina Menzel). Elsa was born with the ability to produce and manipulate snow/ice and her younger sister Anna is, well, normal, albeit precociously so. Growing up they were undeniably close and remained that way until Elsa mistakenly hit Anna in the head  with her magic. Luckily they were able to save Anna, but they had to remove all memories of her sister’s powers from her. Fearing Anna’s powers, her parents closed all access from the outside world to the castle and taught Anna to hide everything she was (seeing a theme develop?).

The main action for the movie starts with their parents being lost at sea and Elsa becoming queen. During the party for Elsa’s coronation, Anna asks Elsa for her blessing so she could marry Hans (Santino Fontana). That doesn’t go really well. Anna and Elsa get into a fight where Elsa’s powers are revealed to their kingdom. Elsa, fearful of everyone around her, runs away and creates an eternal winter in the land (and, in the process, a bad ass Ice-castle while singing a pretty catchy song).

The resulting action in the movie is Anna goes on a journey to find her sister in an attempt to convince her to help fix what happened. Along the way she meets Kristoff (Jonathon Groff), his reindeer Sven, and a snowman named Olaf (Josh Gad) and all of them work to try to find Elsa and make the world right again.

This movie was really fun. It had a bunch of twists and turns  and it dealt with issues like self-confidence, owning who you are and finding your place in the world (what some may call quintessential Disney themes).

Like I said in the title, I think Frozen could have taken that ninth Oscar spot for Best Picture nominations. There might have been some lulls in the middle of the film, but I thought the beginning, with the interesting shot choices and different perspectives, and the ending, with the various twists and turns in dialogue, were worthy of cinematic acclaim. I think Kristen Bell was really good as Anna (almost Mike Myers or Eddie Murphy in Shrek good) and the writing of the movie was really crisp (especially in some of the lighter songs).

I think this film is around an 85 out of 100. In terms of base reactions, After watching Frozen I felt the same as I had just watched Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin or The Lion King for the first time. It was that good. If you like Disney movies this isn’t one to miss.

 

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

One Comment on “Frozen should have been nominated for Best Picture

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

