(FYI: these clips were pulled from the movie and are really graphic. You were forewarned.)

There were two Oscar-nominated Best Pictures I told myself that I was going to buy when they first came out: American Hustle and The Wolf of Wall Street. I’ve talked about the reasons why I really dug American Hustle so let’s focus on why I was initially interested in TWWS:

Naked women, drugs, people doing fucked-up shit, Naked women, Leo, Marty, Copious amounts of drugs, the Good-fellas feel that the trailer had,  all the other big-name actors in the film and people doing fucked up shit with drugs off of naked women.

Exhibit A:

Now, why would this appeal to me? Haven’t my senses been refined by studying various aspects of art and culture that should make feel some sort of intellectual aversion to what is being displayed on the screen?

No.

It shouldn’t.

And I don’t think this movie is without message (I’ll attempt to prove that).

By the way, before we get to far into this, there is an awful lot of profanity in this movie. It actually has the record for most instances of the “F-word,” otherwise known as “fuck”. For that reason, as an homage to the film, I’m going to describe things however the fuck I want. If profanity is something that displeases you, I sincerely apologize. I feel it has a big role in this film as a colloquial construct and I fucking love that about this film, man.

The Wolf of Wall Street’s plot is relatively simply. Based off of a  true story, although it claims some events have been fictionalized to add to the dramatization, TWWS tells the story of Jordan Belfort (Leonardo DiCaprio) as a green-eyed, fresh out of college, stockbroker and his rise to prominence through illegal or unethical practices and his subsequent fall after being targeted by the FBI. The movie takes a look at how greed motivates people and it does not shy away from the opulence that can come with it.

That’s the beginning of the flick. Belfort is a young naive kid just trying to make money for his family. Matthew McConaughey’s character quickly educates him as to the reality of Wall Street. The conversation sets a tone for the entire film.  Their world is primal. It’s about taking from one person and keeping for yourself. It also shows the high-pressure stereotype of Wall Street, how people cope with that and a modern Wheel of Fortune concept (Not the one with Vanna) where bad people prosper and good people don’t.

Take a look at this scene:

Look at all the shots of the crowd. When you think of Wall Street is that what you would think of? Fuck no. This feels like Planet of the Apes more than it feels like an office building in New York City. They are in bloodlust. They are controlled by their instincts to fuck, eat and survive. This movie is opulent because it is mimicking the society that was created – not because it was trying to get dudes in who wanted to see fucked up shit.

Although that probably helped.

The movie is funny and it is definitely re-watchable. The acting performances are really the movie’s second leg to stand on. Let’s look at a couple of scenes:

I was a little surprised that this wasn’t Jonah Hill’s clip during the award show circuit.

Margot Robbie, who played Naomi, was nothing short of enticing (and a bit bitchy).

Kyle Chandler, who plays FBI agent Denham, is the quintessential dog with a bone trying to live up to his ideal of morality (and I guess would be considered the “good guy” of the film).

Part of me really likes the entrepreneurial spirit of the actors in the film and part of me will hang up on cold callers even quicker now.

Honestly there are so many clips from the movie that are worth showing that I should just rattle off a couple at once before i wrap this thing up.

This movie is long (clocks in at 180 minutes) and for people who don’t do well with traditionally obscene material this won’t be fun for you. If you want to laugh at the aforementioned fucked-up shit and appreciate a good old-fashioned Martin Scorsese film then this is something you might like. I did (although I was probably in the mood for it after so many damn traditional dramas this season).

I give it an 87 out of 100. That rating is more predicated on the ways the movie appeals to me than a traditional analysis.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

3 Comment on “#Review: The Wolf of Wall Street (NSFW)

  1. Pingback: My Wolf of Wall Street poem | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

