There was a prompt awhile back where we had to talk about a song that reminded us of a certain place or time. I adapted it and wrote about the songs that reflected who I am. I called it “My Musical Memory Set List (Volume One)“. It looks like with today’s prompt I will get to write volume two.

Today’s prompt:

What sort of music was played in your house when you were growing up? What effect, (if any) did it have on your musical tastes?

The better question is what wasn’t played in my house growing up. For a hobby my dad had (and still has) a side DJ business while I was growing up. That, coupled with the fact that both sides of my family (Mom’s family and Dad’s family) both really loved music, had a tremendous impact on my appreciation of music.

(Although it really didn’t do anything for my musical performance acumen – unless I’ve been drinking at a karaoke bar. Then it’s on.)

I think the best way to approach this post, for me, is to shoot you some links of stuff that was played a lot while growing up.

I think a lot of those songs, or those types of songs, were playing in my house growing up (and so much more). A lot of the nineties music I felt like I came into on my own or partially discovered it with my parents.  I’m happy they had such a passion for music. My Dad and I still do this game where we try to guess songs as fast as we can. I think that’s something I will always remember and really value.

Check out what these people wrote up:

  1. Moon-rock | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  2. Rhythm | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Music, Food and a Dash of Wild | Rose-tinted Rambles
  4. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo- How a Song Could Brings Back Beautiful Memories | Journeyman
  5. Hey, Hey Good Lookin’ & Divine Providence | The Jittery Goat
  6. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | The WordPress C(h)ronicle

Wow, I think I did this a little too early. If you did this after me comment and I’ll throw in a ping back.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

19 Comment on “My Musical Memory Set List (Volume Two)

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt: Music | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: Sabbatical Songs: growing up in Oxford | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  3. Pingback: Punk | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | A Mixed Bag

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | MythRider

  6. Pingback: We Forgot How To Music | Knowledge Addiction

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Papa Love Mambo | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  9. Pingback: B.Kaotic

  10. Pingback: Days Of Music Passed | Edward Hotspur

  11. Pingback: Music In My Life | 365 Days of Thank You

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo but Mama – Mama is a Different Story – Mama is a Big Bands Kinda Gal | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  13. Pingback: The Breakfast Soundtrack - Compass & Quill

  14. Pingback: Papa Loves Mambo (Not really) | Alexia Jones

  15. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 80] Change it! | Never A Worry

  16. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Facing The Music” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  17. Pingback: Papa loves Mambo | My Kaleidoscope

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

