So there are two ways for me to answer this prompt:

What’s your travel style? Are you itinerary and schedule driven, needing to have every step mapped out in advance or are you content to arrive without a plan and let happenstance be your guide?

If I am traveling by myself I am more likely to be schedule oriented (sort of) and If I am traveling with someone else I am more likely to go with the flow.

I love traveling by myself for one simple reason: Airports.

Cliche, right? I get there early, get my soda and some M&M’s and sit and watch people. It’s a writing exercise for me. Sometimes I look at all the good in humanity like the opening of Love Actually or I write hypothetical scenes similar to Loki and the Nun (and, just to mention, just after that Bartleby goes into his own Love Actually-esque appreciation for airports). What’s a better chance for a character study than a location with characters from all over the planet?

I once went on a trip with this girl and she laughed at me because I kept striking up conversations with random people. I was more personable in airports than I am in a “real” setting. They just bring something out in me.

When I get to a location I typically either go see everything right away as fast as I can or I linger a bit. The first time I went to Disney I ran all over that park because I was determined to see everything. The second time I savored things. And the third time I worked there (totally different story). The actractions in the location really play a big role in how I approach the trip.

Check out what these people wrote:

  1. Be a Hero | Rima Hassan
  2. Prison | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Moon-rock | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. California: a fat wave* of options | Andrea Reads America
  5. Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer-How an Introvert Travel (pics) | Journeyman
  6. Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  7. The Happy Wanderer: My Travel Style #DailyPost | The Wayfaring Family
  8. Travel Style | From Journo-baby to Journo-babe
  9. Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  10. The Unhappy Wanderer | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  11. DP Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | Sabethville
  12. How to Get a Green Card: A Lesson in Planning and Letting Go | Kosher Adobo
  13. There’s Nothing There & Professor Hamilton’s Advice To Writers | The Jittery Goat
  14. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  15. love-hate | yi-ching lin photography
Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

14 Comment on “I love airports

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt: Travel | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: The Happy Wanderer | Eyes to Heart

  3. Pingback: The Happy Wanderer | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  4. Pingback: Through The Woods | Knowledge Addiction

  5. Pingback: Unforgettable Past – ITARSI – The Escapade! | Views Splash!

  6. Pingback: B.Kaotic

  7. Pingback: To understand where someone is coming from it helps to travel down their road | Institute for Hispanic Health Equity

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  9. Pingback: Happy Wanderer (or not) | 365 Days of Thank You

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Happy Wanderer | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  11. Pingback: Humans and the wandering journey | Wired With Words

  12. Pingback: The sound of boots made for walking | Mirrorgirl

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

