The fresh smell of ash overcomes the air
And I take a second to watch them stare.
“Not fair, Not fair, Not fair! I should be there!”

I groaned and then bemoaned, now on my own.
With no one to care and no one to phone,
I begin my journey on lonely stone.

I can never go back. Never. ever.
Words were said and friendships were severed,
Never again will we be together.

I set off to new unknown horizons
Or at least that is what i tell myself.
I lost the one thing that defined my self.

It was stupid: What I said – What I wrote.
I tried to play it off as a bad joke.
But it did not work and everything broke.

It was my life, my higher education
And I was exiled in desperation.

No longer in life was I a Lobo
And that put my pride in a place so low.
Without that, where was I destined to go?

It’s been a very long time since those days.
While my life has changed for the better ways,
Part of me misses who I was back then –
When I thought those sweet times would never end.

Little did I know life was about to begin.

I wrote this poem for the We Drink Because We’re Poets prompt series. Check it out and be sure to read all of the other entries!

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

6 Comment on “Burned Bridges

  1. Pingback: Poetry Prompt #2 – Results | We Drink Because We're Poets

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

