I’m not really sure if this constitutes as lingering per se, but, since I’m thinking about football today, there is something that is kind of close to the prompt.

I have a habit, during football season, to do my game prep incredibly early. Hypothetically, if we have a 7:00 p.m. game, I could be at our facility as early as noon. That’s insane right? Yes and no.

A portion of it is practical. I like to pack all the supplies and do equipment checks which can take an hour or so depending on where we are going and what time of the season it may be.

Another part is routine. Doing the same things each week adds a level of comfort which makes the game easier to approach. Sitting in the coaches office, screwing around on my computer, is almost cathartic in a sense. There is no one else there. It’s calming.

And the last part is purely anticipation. That happened a lot this past season. How could I sit at home if I had worked all week to do something that was happening that night? I would go insane just sitting there, knowing that I was just waiting to go to the locker room or the stadium. I’d rather wait there and eliminate the middle part.

DSC06089

I also have a tendency to do film inside the coaches office after the game (which probably coincides more with the lingering prompt). That really has practical measures to it. Post-game I typically have a lot of adrenaline and really want to look at the film – although I could drive home and do it there as well. I think the reason I don’t is if I went home it would mean the game was over. When you put so much of your energy and time into something it is hard to let go of it once it is done. I think that’s why I rationalize not going home right away and doing film on the spot (aside from the other practical purposes of just getting the film online).

Well that was my lingering mess of a prompt. Check out what these people wrote: 

  1. A Night At Billy Bronco’s | The Jittery Goat
  2. Daily Prompt: Linger- What Makes a Life Worth Living For | Journeyman
  3. The Last | Kate Murray
  4. A Monday free of an alarm call is wonderful, isn’t it? | thoughtsofrkh
  5. DP Daily Prompt: Linger | Sabethville
  6. Daily Prompt: Linger | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  7. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer | There Be Leprechauns
  8. Shared Lullabies: An Adult Who Wants to Stay Just a Little Bit Longer in Her Parents’ Bed | Kosher Adobo
  9. linger | yi-ching lin photography
  10. after that first bite, | y
  11. When Do I Stay Awhile? | Cass’s Useless Opinions
Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

19 Comment on “My pre-game Pre-Game

  1. Pingback: Home Sweet Home | Views Splash!

  2. Pingback: Joyful linger over Versatile Award | litadoolan

  3. Pingback: Lingering in the Garden of Dreams | Wright Outta Nowhere

  4. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 76] All good things… | Never A Worry

  5. Pingback: Linger On My Dear Monday | B.Kaotic

  6. Pingback: Frozen In Time | Knowledge Addiction

  7. Pingback: SUBLIME TO RIDICULOUS IN ONE EASY STEP | SERENDIPITY

  8. Pingback: Don’t Stop The Music | jigokucho

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Linger | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  10. Pingback: Linger a little | A mom's blog

  11. Pingback: The 6th of October 1981 – Idaho Falls, Idaho | Forgotten Correspondence

  12. Pingback: Girl Scout Campfire | melissuhhsmiles

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Linger | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  14. Pingback: Daily prompt: Linger | The Wandering Poet

  15. Pingback: Bonnet Shores Beach Club | 365 Days of Thank You

  16. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Linger | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  17. Pingback: LINGER INSIDE ETERNITY | Hastywords

  18. Pingback: Let’s stay a while… | Love.Books.Coffee.

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

