Prompt:

Tell us the origin story of your best friend. How did you become friends? What is it that keeps your friendship rockin’ after all these years?

I met Lori when I was living in Albuquerque. I was working at a Circle K in a very bad part of town and she was one of the new hires. I remember that I stopped by and I was in our boss’ office when he told me about the people he hired. He said something dirty about her and another woman. It’s funny, looking back at it . I’ve known this person for close to six years now and that was the first time I learned about them – by a passing remark from our horny boss.

Inevitably, we would work together. That’s how we really got to know each other. And we had fun. We would mess with the crack heads that would come in the store and the drunks that would stumble in for cheap food after the bars closed. We used these walkie-talkies to communicate when one of us was stocking the fridge and the other was up front. Sometimes we would hide them so when one of the drunks/addicts would walk in they would have no clue what was going on. There was a notebook for inter-office communication (for if someone didn’t finish a job or if things needed to be put away) that we would take over and write long inside jokes that people would either laugh at or, well, laugh at.

That’s the start point for it all. It’s not our whole story. There have been ups and downs and periods of disconnect but, when it comes down to it, I am a better person for having her in my life. We run RHV together and that is a story I have told plenty of times. It’s nice to have someone who is on your side when things go to crap and I’m happy she is that person for me.

Old old old picture

Old old old picture

Check out what other people wrote for this prompt:

  1. Ilya Fostiy. New Life | The Bliss of Reality
  2. Facebook | Crazy Art
  3. Ilya Fostiy. Sweet Romance | Crazy Art
  4. Devotion | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  5. Proud | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  6. Prepare to Die & The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  7. Daily Prompt: Something So Strong-Psychology behind a strong bond between friend | Journeyman
  8. You Have Beautiful Eyes | Musings | WANGSGARD
  9. Atlantis onwards: Soul Mate | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  10. big sister | yi-ching lin photography
  11. Daily Prompt: Friendship things. | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  12. Daily prompt: Best friends | The Wandering Poet
  13. Daily Prompt: Something so strong | cockatooscreeching
  14. Something So Strong – my best friend | Purplesus’ Blog
  15. DP Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Sabethville
  16. Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | dx0330’s Blog
  17. Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Diary of Dennis
  18. 14 Years Strong | Being HIS Light in a Dark World
  19. Best Friends | Cass’s Useless Opinions
  20. Jake | Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | likereadingontrains
  21. Big Bear: a rough essay | kaleidoscope sparks of defiance
  22. More than a Colleague | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  23. “As people grow colder” | Hope* the happy hugger
  24. Please Keep Me In Your Heart | Flowers and Breezes
  25. Ames | Long Winding Road
  26. “Picture it, Sicily, 1924…” | thoughtsofrkh
Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

13 Comment on “Daily Prompt: Something So Strong

  1. Pingback: Something So Strong | The Story of a Guy

  2. Pingback: Something So Strong | Lisa's Kansa Muse

  3. Pingback: Position Open | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: AND STILL WE ARE STRONG | SERENDIPITY

  6. Pingback: Ode to My BFF | Views Splash!

  7. Pingback: Welcome Brothers | Views Splash!

  8. Pingback: How I Met My Rock (Quite Literally) | Thinking Diagonally

  9. Pingback: Daily prompt: Best friends | The Wandering Poet

  10. Pingback: Bond | My Play Nook

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

