I reworked parts of this and added a speech to the end. I also changed the name (I’m doing a thing with the names). This play is what i am working on for my playwriting workshop at Southern New Hampshire University.

Cast

ADAM Baxter        Male

HANNAH Harrison    Female

ANNA               Female

PEOPLE walking by  Male and Female

Setting

In Albuquerque:

City Street

Apartment Bedroom

In front of curtain

Distinguished by five city street lights. The lights respond to where people are on the stage.

Downstage from the City Street and set in darkness until the dialogue calls for it. May be minimalistic to account for space.

Closed curtain. Nothing on stage.

Time

End of summer

Act One

Scene One

Setting: Curtain

At Rise: Curtain does not rise. ADAM Baxter walks to center stage from behind the curtain. He comes out from behind the curtain and addresses the audience.

ADAM

I remember the first time I really learned about HANNAH. We were working at a gas station in what they now call the international district of Albuquerque. They call it the international district because the “war zone” wasn’t really a property seller. HANNAH had just clocked in. She told me to follow her into the walk-in freezer. She got high the night before and was upset with herself. She said she had regretted what she had done but couldn’t control herself in the situation she was placed in. I asked her why she just didn’t take herself out of that situation. She said it was more complicated than that and walked out of the freezer. We never talked about it again. HANNAH was always like that. It’s like she was trying to repent to people she never wronged.

ADAM walks away from the audience off stage right.

End of scene.


Act One

Scene Two

Setting: Albuquerque city street, night.

At the Rise: The curtain lifts to reveal five streetlights. Only the streetlight closest to stage left is lighted. ADAM and HANNAH’s voices are heard off stage.

HANNAH

Why can’t we just drive?

ADAM

Because it’s an adventure.

HANNAH

Adventures can be had in cars ADAM.

ADAM

Come on, It’ll be fun.

HANNAH

You always say that.

ADAM begins to walk to the second streetlight but HANNAH stands firm underneath the lighted street sign.

HANNAH

What are you doing?

ADAM

I, I don’t know. I thought you were behind me.

ADAM walks back to the first streetlight and stands next to HANNAH.

HANNAH

You were going to leave me.

ADAM

No, I thought you were next to me.

HANNAH

I wasn’t.

ADAM

I’m sorry. Like I said, I didn’t know.

HANNAH takes her hand off the light post and walks downstage.

HANNAH

Can’t we stay here awhile? I want to look around.

ADAM

But what about our journey?

HANNAH

I thought it was an adventure.

ADAM

Aren’t they the same thing?

HANNAH (Ignoring his question)

Come here.

ADAM walks downstage to be next to HANNAH.

HANNAH

Dance with me.

ADAM

But there is no music.

HANNAH pulls ADAM close to her and ADAM puts his hands on her hips.

HANNAH

Do you really need music?

ADAM

I think I do.

HANNAH

What type of music would you like to dance to?

ADAM (jokingly)

I think I would find a nice samba pleasant.

HANNAH (laughing)

A samba? Really?

ADAM

MADAM, you did not establish any restrictions.

HANNAH

Fine.

HANNAH adjusts her hands on ADAM’s body and begins to mimic the first couple of bars of a samba before an actual song can be heard by the audience. The couple dances for about 20 seconds before ADAM stops.

ADAM

Can you do a power ballad?

HANNAH

When did I become a juke box?

ADAM (playfully)

Why are you stalling?

Unwilling to lose the challenge, HANNAH forcefully pulls ADAM close to her and loudly sings the chorus from Foreigner’s “I want to know what love is,” while PEOPLE walk awkwardly by.

After a moment, HANNAH and ADAM walk a little further. They reach the second street light and ADAM leans down to tie his shoe.

ADAM (leaning down)

Hold on.

HANNAH stops and turns around to look at ADAM.

HANNAH

Do you have any regrets?

ADAM {rising)

Like serious regrets?

HANNAH

Just in general.

ADAM

I think everyone has some sort of regret in their life; things they wish they could have done differently or things they would do differently, if given the chance.

HANNAH

What would you have done differently?

ADAM quietly looks downstage. The faint image of a dimly lit apartment becomes clearer.

ADAM

It’s silly to think of things like that. Let’s keep going.

HANNAH

I’m not going anywhere until you tell me.

ADAM slowly walks downstage from the second street lamp. The streetlights fade and the light of apartment becomes brighter, revealing a woman. ADAM walks from the shadows and gets into the bed in the middle of the apartment. He lies next to a woman who is not HANNAH.

ADAM

Fine. I guess the biggest regret I have is, well; let me set the scene.

The lights where HANNAH stands fully darken and a faint rain-like nose become audible. ADAM sits up in the bed.

ADAM

I awake in a building surrounded by serfs to spoons and idolaters to their ecstasy. The gallant grey walls of apartment 124 wither amongst the white window panes. The sleeping woman beside me blacked out over two years ago. Or at least that’s what she claims.

A loud bullet sound occurs.

ADAM

The bellowing blast shivers through out my spine and I glance towards the window. It wasn’t a bullet. Just a car.

ADAM’s gaze shifts from the window back to the woman next to him.

ADAM

She doesn’t move. She stays silent in the gallows of her sleep.

HANNAH (from the darkness)

Who is she?

ADAM (to HANNAH)

Are you going to let me tell my story?

HANNAH rescinds and ADAM continues.

ADAM

The TV flickers back on. A sadly executed commercial about a pointless product hooks me for the moment. An old man and a young woman talk with long glaring looks about life insurance policies.

ADAM looks to ANNA.

ADAM

ANNA stirs, she realizes I’m awake. She rolls over and puts a hand on my back. “Hold me” are the simple words she breathes into the nape of my neck. My hand gropes the left side of the bed, rifling for the remote.

ADAM pauses and turns the TV off.

ADAM

The TV powers off and I slide my arm over ANNA’s slender waist. Her fingers find my hands and she makes tight little circles on the top of my palm with her ring finger. Slowly the frequency decreases as she succumbs to slumber once more.

ADAM relents for a moment.

ADAM

I lay here. I live here.

ADAM grows impassioned

ADAM

Her body drives life into my chest and her presence is the only thing keeping me in this room. This room, situated in this run-down apartment, nestled in this no-where neighborhood, forgotten to the fast paced world.

HANNAH (from the darkness)

So it was about the girl?

ADAM (to HANNAH)

No, I’m not there yet.

ADAM refocuses.

ADAM

Leave or love-in-limbo is the dispute adulterating the molecules of my mind. It is the exhausting battle I perpetually endure. Days are spent deliberating of ways to kneel beside bedposts in the embargoed night. The only moment I have to breathe is the simple seconds spent holding ANNA in the early hours of the morning.

The sounds of the parking lot score the intimate scene; the howl of the cool wind, the hum of a quiet car. Everything works together to tempt the tensions of ADAM and ANNA’s ill-fated resistances.

ADAM

I don’t sleep. I hide from it. The times I have counted the DVD’s along the wall in the light of darkness are innumerable. I paint plastered pictures of people along the withering white walls; I escape in the little bits of breaths exchanged while the clock counts upward.

HANNAH begins to giggle.

ADAM

ANNA tenses. She must be dreaming. She speaks sonnets about situations centuries ago. I lustfully listen to every lingering syllable, awaiting

ADAM (CONT)

answers to each professed antiquity.

ADAM looks over at HANNAH, still giggling and standing in the darkness.

ADAM

While I want, whistle and willfully yearn for the days when each facet of my faltering life is to be fulfilled, there is a comfort in the complacency of each caress that I could have never calculated. I know, in this moment, something, but not everything, is right.

HANNAH stops giggling.

ADAM

The myth of the moment, however, is that it is remembered. Moments fade and the memories eventually converge into maligned mistruths. They die, disfigured in the dalliances of a true connection.

ADAM pauses in reflection.

ADAM

Will this die? Will there be a time of day when I don’t laugh at the way she wiggles her nose before she sneezes? Will I not find solace in a mid-morning text – just to meander, even if neither of us has the time?

It is impossible. It is improbable.

Sleep begins to seduce what’s left of my strengths. Before I close my eyes I look one last time at ANNA. She stays still, immortalized in the seconds it will be before I speak to her again.

The light dims on the apartment and the lights of the street begin to brighten. ADAM exits the bed and walks back to HANNAH.

ADAM

It’s not solely about the situation or the girl; it’s about the fact I never had both at the same time. Eventually I got scared that I was fine with just one of them.

HANNAH jumps up and inquisitively looks ADAM in the eyes.

ADAM (Confused)

What are you doing?

HANNAH

Hold on.

HANNAH searches ADAM’s body playfully.

HANNAH

Ha!

ADAM

What?

HANNAH

(While walking to the next lamppost)

You’re kinda fucked up, aren’t you?

ADAM

(Slowly walking to catch up to HANNAH)

At least I gave you an honest answer. Don’t I get to ask you something now?

HANNAH swings around the middle lamppost with one arm.

HANNAH

Hmmm. I don’t know.

ADAM

It’s only fair.

HANNAH

Well, what do you want to know?

ADAM walks back and forth for a moment, doing his best to think of a quality question. After a moment, his body straightens and he turns to HANNAH.

ADAM

(Like he had been waiting to ask it)

Tell me about how you two met.

HANNAH’s head turns quickly.

HANNAH

You don’t want to know about that.

ADAM

Why would I ask if I didn’t want to know?

HANNAH

You just don’t ADAM. And I don’t want to talk about it. Let it be.

ADAM chuckles. HANNAH rolls her eyes in an apparent angst and walks to the fifth streetlight. After a moment ADAM recomposes and follows.

HANNAH leans up against the fifth light bot doesn’t pass it.

HANNAH

I’m pregnant.

ADAM (Puzzled)

Again?

HANNAH

Yeah, again.

ADAM walks beside HANNAH and sits on the ground. After a moment HANNAH sits down next to him.

ADAM

Well, have you told him?

HANNAH

No.

ADAM

Why?

HANNAH

I don’t know.

ADAM

Are you going to?

HANNAH

Eventually.

HANNAH and ADAM sit in silence for a moment.

HANNAH

I’m tired.

ADAM

But we are almost there.

HANNAH

I don’t think I’m up for it tonight ADAM. I think I’m just going to go home.

HANNAH stands up and walks toward stage left. Each light turns on as HANNAH passes. ADAM rises to his feet just as she is about to leave the stage.

ADAM

Are you sure you’re ok?

HANNAH

(leaving)

I’m fine. I’ll talk to you tomorrow.

HANNAH exits stage left and ADAM watches her leave. He walks toward her for a moment but the lights don’t flick on as he walks. Eventually he is left in the dark in the middle of the stage.

End of scene.


Act One

Scene Two.

Setting: In front of Curtain.

At the Rise: HANNAH appears at the middle of the stage with the curtains closed behind her.

HANNAH

Adam and I didn’t talk much after that. He got busy with his job and I

(Pauses)

I took a chance on someone and we had an excellent life together. We had two kids. We were a family. I loved him.

(Emphasizing love)

I loved him. It wasn’t idyllic – it was real. It was tangible and I didn’t think about it. I didn’t have to think about it. I wasn’t attracted to this conceptual notion – I was attracted to him. Adam never got that. I couldn’t wait for someone when I had what I already wanted. When I had people depending on me. Adam and I were just friends. That was it.

HANNAH walks behind the curtain.

CURTAIN

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

2 Comment on ““The Diaries of Hannah Harrison: Friendship” (Draft 2)

  1. Pingback: Alternates for “Diaries” Play | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  2. Pingback: “The Diaries of Hannah Harrison: Friendship” Third Draft | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

