When I was younger I used to rant a little bit on Facebook. I’d put everything on blast and be an open book. Facebook was a little smaller back then. People didn’t have this psycho-possessive ideal about what their timeline should feature. If you didn’t want to comment on something you didn’t. No one asked the “why does this matter” question (by the way, the people who ask that question should be shot – does any of this matter?). It was a better time.

This week’s writing prompt made me think about a couple different things but Facebook stuck out to me. To look at it in a bigger scope, social media in general stood out. Social media has affected who I am throughout time. As I’ve gotten older I haven’t been the ranting die-hard that I was on Facebook in my earlier life. I keep things closer to me (unless it is on here then I just let loose) then I have at any other period in my life. I don’t like that.

While I am in school I am living with my parents and I don’t have to work (because my parents are gracious and are allowing me to focus on my education). So, naturally I spend a lot of my time on the computer doing schoolwork, reading and writing. It seems like every day people are getting in trouble for stupid stuff they do on these websites. These little social media platforms, that used to be places where we could share stupid jokes with friends, are now our own personal public relations firms. if we post anything someone can find obscene (or just doesn’t agree with) they can wreck us. Our jobs, our families, and our lives are all up for grabs.

That’s dumb. Isn’t that dumb? I hate that the posting of an opinion now constitutes an action in our society.

As I get older I keep more personal information to the chest and my statuses are quickly becoming retweets/shares, poorly crafted jokes about topical issues, or just links to here (that being said, still follow me on twitter/facebook). I think, being a writer, expression is pretty critical to who I am and the fact that the ability to express whatever I need to is being hampered by things I used to use regularly is concerning to me. It makes me look at who I used to be and reminisce a little bit.  The important thing about age, to me, is recognizing the things that are important to you and keeping them in your life. That’s why i love this blog. It’s random and I try a lot of different things – but it let’s me do something that is important to me.

Read what these people wrote about:

  1. Ilya Fostiy. Amnesia | Crazy Art
  2. Ilya Fostiy. Muse | The Bliss of Reality
  3. Youth Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies
  4. The Illusive FEAR of Getting Old | Musings | WANGSGARD
  5. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | In my world
  6. Looking Back (and Traveling) | JGTravels
  7. Thoughts on Aging | melissuhhsmiles
  8. Yelp for help…… | Obsessive Compulsive Running…….
  9. Youth is a B— | The Backwords
  10. Riding Into The Sunrise
  11. Weekly writing challenge- golden years | A picture is worth 1000 words
  12. The Defining Number | Through The Eyes Productions
  13. I am not my mother | Twisting Suburbia
  14. Weekly Photo Challenge – Perspective | Joe’s Musings
  15. Artfully Aspiring
  16. Wisdom of a Toddler | Artfully Aspiring
  17. I Couldn’t Wait | Fish Of Gold
  18. Young or old? Here’s how to tell | The Crayon Files
  19. The Elders of Us | Wired With Words
  20. Aging with grace and acceptance | Ezhealthcents
  21. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  22. Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | imagination
  23. Thirsty thirties | Scent of Rina
  24. Weekly Writing Challenge: GOLDEN YEARS | Thinking Languages!
  25. Wholehearted living… One day at a time. | masknolonger
  26. You’re As Old As You Feel | A Day In The Life
Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

14 Comment on “Social Media has changed me

  1. Pingback: Youth is a B— | The Backwords

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Golden Years | MythRider

  3. Pingback: GOLDEN WHAT? | SERENDIPITY

  4. Pingback: Maiden, Mother, Crone: all in one | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  5. Pingback: Weekly writing challenge, the Golden years : It’s all Gold, a 95 word story | Challenged for Words

  6. Pingback: DP Challenge – The Path | siobhanmcnamara

  7. Pingback: The 18th of August 1941 – Germantown, Maryland | Forgotten Correspondence

  8. Pingback: Us | Of love, life and such magic

  9. Pingback: Positive(ly) thought(less) | soulfoood

  10. Pingback: Centenary Sparkle | litadoolan

  11. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Golden Years | Joe's Musings

  12. Pingback: The Elders of Us | Wired With Words

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

