While part of me is lying there is another part of me that can never just sit down and write. I have to get to a place. There needs to be a little literary foreplay. My senses need to be tweaked (pinched and poked). For example:

If I am going to write for more than half an hour (or I know that I will be at the computer for more than half an hour) the snacks better be present. Acceptable drinks are (in the following order); Pepsi, Blue Moon Mountain Abbey Ale (it tastes like making love to a beautiful woman on a cloud, next to a fire while dipped in caramel sauce – I tweeted that to them yesterday), vitamin water, anything else.

Acceptable snacks (also in the following order) are as follows; Chocolate covered blueberries, Cape Cod Potato Chips – the cheddar kind, Raisinets, Snow caps, Mint m&m’s, anything else.

And while nourishment (or crack for my digestive tract – there wasn’t much nourishment in either list) is important, there are other prevailing factors that can ruin a writing excursion for me.

The temperature is critical. If it’s too cold I get stiff. If it’s too warm I can’t focus. There needs to be an equilibrium.

What I am wearing is also a factor. I’ve spent the majority of my life working in some sort of athletic venue. Sweats are not what I wear they are an extension of my self. Obviously if i am doing journalism or any other professional writing (publicly) I can go the whole business casual route. But if I am working from home, you best damn believe that I will be rocking some sort of sweat pant or athletic short. That’s just the way it is.

Like everyone else in the whole freaking world my audio senses need to be lightly cupped during the entire process. Lately I’ve been going with Pandora (singer/songwriters, blues, 90’s) but Netflix and regular programming are also stables of which I can revert.

And even if all of those external factors are sufficient, sometimes I just need to get my head right. That could mean I spend time surfing  the internet, playing on my phone or camera, or hoping on the sticks and playing a game or two. It all varies depending on mood.

I prefer nighttime writing (although I am writing in the day more and more) because everyone is asleep and the external noise (other people in the house, stuff outside) is at a minimum.

Oh! My finger nails can’t be long. I hate that while typing. It doesn’t feel right.

In reality, there isn’t much more that goes into me getting on the keys. I really do love writing, it’s just things have to be right in order for it to work for me sometimes. Then again, looking back over this post, it’s fucking shocking i get any writing done at all.

Check out what other people wrote for this prompt. Also, if you have a process, I would love to hear about it.

  1. Henna | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  2. Ballerina | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Daily Prompt: Time After Time- Psychology: Introduction to self esteem | Journeyman
  4. Daily Prompt: Time After Time | Saleh Elgherbawi
  5. One Crazy Mom » What Keeps My Week Going
  6. Do more walking | The Bliss of Reality
  7. DP Daily Prompt: Time after Time | Sabethville
  8. Growing Up | The Jittery Goat
  9. Daily Prompt: Time After Time: #Coffee #Ritual | Of Glass & Paper
  10. chocolate | yi-ching lin photography
  11. we gather today | y
  12. Daily Prompt: Time After Time | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  13. A sweet memory of the past | Attempted Human Relations and Self
  14. The One Hit Wonder | the intrinsickness
  15. Sex appeal? Clumsy oafess? Time after Time… | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  16. Kiss me, I’m Irish: a San Francisco tradition | Suddenly Single in Marin
  17. A book review for World Book Day | Sue’s Trifles
  18. As traditions go, this one isn’t bad. Bit costly though… | thoughtsofrkh
  19. DAILY PROMPT: Ritual | cockatooscreeching
  20. Family. Rituals. War. | daggyshog tales
  21. Ritual « Shrine of Hecate – Ramblings of a New Age Witch
  22. You know Gail Baker down the road? | The verbal hedge
  23. A twisted family tradition | A picture is worth 1000 words
  24. Daily Prompt: Time After Time | My Other Blog
  25. The More Things Change… | My Author-itis
  26. Daily Prompt – Time After Time. |
  27. It’s spelled ‘Crucian’. | Asta’s Space
  28. Minutely Infinite | Traditionally Speaking
  29. The beauty of a fitness routine versus having a joint-eater to be thin « psychologistmimi
  30. Family Vocabulary: Traditions! | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  31. Corn, Onions and Christianity | meanderedwanderings
  32. Daily Prompt: Time After Time « Mama Bear Musings
  33. Daily Prompt: Time After Time | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  34. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer | On Our Fears its Soul Shall Feast
  35. Time After Time | The Nameless One
  36. I didn’t listen, what’s your excuse? | meg lago
  37. Time After Time | The Story of a Guy
  38. I [heart] Hotpot Dinners | Beez Giftz
  39. Time After Time Traditions Live | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  40. time after time | klstar2000
  41. My secret photography ritual. | What Katy Thought.
  42. A Tradition That Kept Us Still Standing | Navigate
  43. Birthday Traditions | Cancer Isn’t Pink
  44. Burn-Out | Green Embers
  45. Time After Time | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  46. I Wanna Live Again | Views Splash!
  47. Life’s Rituals: MissShy Gets Engaged | Ana Linden
  48. A Sunday Paratha | Flowers and Breezes
  49. “Time After Time” | Relax
  50. Daily Prompt: Time After Time | Raspberry’s Daydreams
  51. OSCAR ISN’T SACRED BUT WE WATCH ANYHOW | SERENDIPITY
  52. Year after year. | stilldaddyslittlegirl
  53. The Good Tradition Of Eurovision… | Steve Says…
  54. Birthday Tradition | Margaux’s Blog
  55. 65/365 ritual | @vannilla
  56. of small delights | Anawnimiss
  57. Awake at night | anonim0us
  58. Awake at night | anonim0us
  59. Traditions, start a good one. | Emotional Fitness
  60. A different kind of Christmas Tree (Daily Prompt: “Time After Time, Show Us Ritual”) | Photo0pal Photography
  61. Spot Me Bro! – A Daily Tradition | Lifestyle | WANGSGARD
  62. Weekly Reprieve from the Pattern of Life | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  63. Family Traditions | A mom’s blog
  64. Time After Time: Daily Post | Destino
  65. Traditions? Can’t think of any! | djgarcia94

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

11 Comment on “I am a writing rock band that only wants green m&m’s. ONLY GREEN ONES!

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt: Ritual | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: I Wanna Live Again | Views Splash!

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Time After Time | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s too early yet | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s too early yet | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  6. Pingback: The beauty of a fitness routine versus having a joint-eater to be thin « psychologistmimi

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Time After Time | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  8. Pingback: Thoughts on writing 3/16/14 5:00 a.m. | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  9. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With Alex Hicks – “Capturing Rapture” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

