I’ve been blogging a lot lately. It’s been fun. Poems, pictures and prompts have been a great way for me to stay engaged in my writing (yes photography allows me to write better -it’s all about the inspiration). And this little looking at my book series has been fun for me. I really love medieval texts – especially this one.

Without any further adieu, lets look at these last few rules.

#21: Real Jealousy always increases the feeling of love.

While I think this is kind of like rule two, I guess I can concede that there are differing forms of Jealousy and they can increase the feelings in a relationship. While I get that the feeling of love is more of the subject in this rule, I can’t get past what “Fake Jealousy” would be like.

#22: Jealousy, and therefore love, are increased when one suspects his beloved.

Kinda logical rule, huh? Part of me thinks Jealousy has a much bigger meaning to Cappellanus than what we associate with the word. But for now I am going to play with the meaning all of us regularly connote.

#23: He whom the thought of love vexes eats and sleeps very little:

Who hasn’t had a sleepless night or two while in love? It could be a good or a bad thing, 🙂 .

#24: Every act of a lover ends in the thought of his beloved.

Makes sense. I’ve done crazy shit and rationalized it out of love. We all have. If you haven’t you’re lying to yourself. Communist.

#25: A true lover considers nothing good except what he thinks will please his beloved.

It’s similar to 24 but not really the same. A person can act and it can be an act that wasn’t fully considered in the interest of the loved one.

#26: “Love can deny nothing to love”

This is one of my absolute favorites. It kid of sums up the entire set of rules. Regardless, I’m going to go quote it about 50 times across social media networks.

#27: A lover can never have enough of the solaces of his beloved.

Part of me wants to argue against this but then there is the part of me that would really love a little solace every now and then. If I had a beloved I would love her solace.

#28: A slight presumption can cause a lover to suspect his beloved.

Kind of the premise for a lot of major tragedy right?

#29: A man who is vexed by too much passion usually does not love.

Who can get vexed by a lot of passion? Passion is awesome. #Fact.

#30: A true lover is constantly and without intermission possessed by the thought of his beloved.

You know those couples who constantly text one another? The Marshall and Lilly couples? He’s talking to them.

#31: Nothing forbids one woman being loved by two men or one man by two women.

While I have never been in that situation (the good way) I agree with it.

Check out 11-20 and 1-10.

 

 

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

