I get really excited for the Oscars. Not Super Bowl excited (I’d be watching pre-game shows already) but Championship game excited. I love the speeches. That’s really what it comes down to for me. I don’t care about the dresses or the viable wow factor of things. For me it is about the speeches, the skits (ellen better not suck) and the art.

For the second year I tried to watch all best picture nominees prior to telecast. Unfortunately that is not going to go down. I’m going to finish with five out of nine films reviewed. I wasn’t able to watch Philomena, The Wolf of Wall Street, American Hustle or Her. Check out the five I did review:

Gravity

Dallas Buyers Club

Captain Phillips

Nebraska

12 Years a Slave

My Picks

Of the films I watched, 12 Years a Slave is my Best Picture award winner. The movie is stunning in both the good and bad senses of the word and is one of the foremost representations of what slavery was during the time period.

Best Actor and Best Supporting Actor will go to the men of Dallas Buyers Club. They’ve been doing incredibly well on the awards circuit and I don’t see that stopping tonight. If it does it certainly will be a shocker.

My Best Actress goes to Cate Blanchett for her role in Blue Jasmine.  Her portrayal of a woman dissenting into madness is one of the best acting performances I have seen in years.

Best Supporting Actress will probably go to Lupita Nyong’o. She also had done well on the awards circuit and I found her performance to be breathtaking.

Best Director will be a toss up between Steve McQueen of 12 Years and Alfonzo Cuaron of Gravity. Both did outstanding jobs and I have no clue which way it will go.

To end

I want to post two of my favorite  speeches as a means of illustrating why I love watching the show.

This next one wasn’t an Oscar but it is one of my favorite movie awards show speeches.

If I can get a moment like either of those from tonight I will definitely be happy.

What do you want to happen on tonight’s telecast?

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

