Today’s prompt:

You’re 12 years old. It’s your birthday. Write for ten minutes on that memory. GO.

I can’t remember this. I tried. I really did try. Logic dictates that the birthday in which I turned 12 would have been the birthday when I was in the sixth grade. I can remember my friends and the various things that I liked, but can I remember my birthday? Fuck no.

Part of me thinks this may have been one of the first birthdays where I started trading out parties for bigger gifts. This may have been the year I saw my first Patriots game (It would be about the right time period). I am just not that certain about it.

I feel like I should be though. I feel like I should be able to recall various bits of minutia like birthdays. Aren’t those important?

I called the post “I think I have to lie” because If I want to write anything that goes beyond this paragraph, I’m going to have to start making shit up.

Read what other people wrote:

  1. Care to Dare | Rima Hassan
  2. BFF | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Tinkerbell’s home | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. Daily Prompt: Shake It Up- Family | Journeyman
  5. Brent’s Ten Dollar Idea And The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  6. Daily Prompt: Shake It Up | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  7. Daily Prompt: Shake it Up | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  8. Prayer for Faith | Daily Prompt: Shake it Up | likereadingontrains
  9. Happy Birthday to Me | Knowledge Addiction
  10. Daily Prompt: Ten Minutes of Nothing | Under the Monkey Tree
  11. Twelve | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  12. Twelve: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  13. Daily Prompt – Reckless – Broken |
  14. My Day. | Crossroads
  15. [M.M.X.I.V. 55] Snowball fight (Fiction) | Never A Worry
  16. Daily Prompt: Shake it Up | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  17. DP Daily Prompt: Shake it Up | Sabethville
  18. Birthdays | Sinister Pacifism
  19. Twelfth birthday | Sue’s Trifles
  20. Birthday cake | dandelionsinwind
  21. Daily Prompt: Shake it Up | littlegirlstory
  22. Childhood Birthday Bashes | Anecdotes | WANGSGARD.COM
  23. Reckless: Daily Post | Destino
  24. Shake It Up: Twelve | A Patchwork Life
  25. thoughtsofrkh
  26. Never having had a birthday party I worry about how to throw one for my son « psychologistmimi
  27. The amazing recollections of a nothing birthday for your reviewing pleasure. | thoughtsofrkh
  28. Wendy Karasin – Musings of a Boomer
  29. Daily Prompt: Shake It Up-Reckless | My Father’s Garden
  30. A Gloomy Birthday. | Asta’s Space
  31. Daily Prompt: Shake It Up! « Mama Bear Musings
  32. 54/365 reckless | @vannilla
  33. A blown-out candle | MC’s Whispers
  34. Daily Prompt: Shake It Up | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  35. In my pink B’day dress | Tale of Two Tomatoes
  36. Swinging in the Air | Flowers and Breezes
  37. BIRTHDAYS AND OTHER DAYS OF JOY | SERENDIPITY
  38. Too Dull To ‘Shake It Up’ | Cats, Coffee, And Life At Random
  39. Daily Prompt: Shake it Up | Of Glass & Paper
  40. Shake It Up! My Brain Has No Memories Of My Twelve Birthday. | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  41. Daily Prompt: Being Twelve! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  42. Happy Birthday Chump! | Views Splash!
  43. Daily Prompt: Shake it Up | Sued51’s Blog
  44. I’m a Dull Boring Person… on a Good Day. | My Author-itis
  45. In which I know nothing at all | Infinitefreetime
  46. At home | Life is great
  47. I’m not 12 and it’s not my birthday, but thanks anyway! | Celebrating Time
  48. Bare in the Woods | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  49. Happiness: Then and Now | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  50. Shake Yo’ Booby! | Beez Giftz
  51. A system of Awesomeness | thejimmieG
  52. Reckless | The Silver Leaf Journal
  53. Reckless | The Land Slide Photography
  54. Shake it up: practice kindness | Emotional Fitness
  55. The Careless Whisper of a Good Friend… | Rose Red Stories
  56. My World: My Eyes – Earth’s Candle | Dibbler Dabbler

 

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

9 Comment on “I think i have to lie

  1. Pingback: At home | Life is great

  2. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 55] Snowball fight (Fiction) | Never A Worry

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Shake it Up | The Wandering Poet

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Shake it Up | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  5. Pingback: Happy Birthday Chump! | Views Splash!

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Shake It Up | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. Pingback: Shake it Up | Alexia Jones

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

