Today’s prompt really brought me back to my internship at Walt Disney World in Florida. If I hadn’t have done that internship I don’t know who I would be.

At the time I was one semester removed from failing out of the University of New Mexico and was biding my time at Central New Mexico Community College (An institution I also credit with developing who I am).

I walked into the seminar describing the internship in the middle of February, just because, and by July I was in Florida. I didn’t take the move that lightly, I had developed a pretty solid base in Albuquerque and didn’t really want to leave my friends. But I also realized how my education career was growing stagnant and I needed something to offset the problems of my past. I had to give it a shot.

So my dad flew out to Albuquerque and he and I drove cross country to Florida. Part of me felt like I had failed in New Mexico but, after awhile, I realized I had to go to Disney so I could pursue the opportunities I did during my second go around in New Mexico.

My internship in the Magic Kingdom taught me a multitude of things about customer service and showed me parts of myself I didn’t really know I had. If I didn’t have to (want to) go back to Albuquerque I probably would have stayed there.

Sometimes the metaphorical leaps we take break us. What I didn’t know for a long time is the actions (or other metaphorical leaps) we take to build ourselves back up can be just as important.

(Read what these people wrote):

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

    1. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Basically Beyond Basic

    1. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | a Portia Adams adventure

    1. My Giant Step – Daily Prompt | alienorajt

    1. Four Things I Learned About Freedom From an Uber-Strict Prep School | Kosher Adobo

    1. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon- Being Independent | Journeyman

    1. I Think My Leg Is Broken | Musings | WANGSGARD.COM

    1. Rocket To The Moon . | Crossroads

    1. A Rainy Day At Home (short story) and The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat

    1. One Crazy Mom » Taking the Next Step

    1. I’m Michael Jackson | Knowledge Addiction

    1. I Will Weather | Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | likereadingontrains

    1. DP Daily Prompt: Walking On The Moon | Sabethville

    1. Walking On The Moon – You Kidding! | Views Splash!

    1. Daily Prompt: The Giant Step — A Haiku: Sunday, February 23, 2014 | LisaRosier.com

    1. It’s All About Trying… | Life Confusions

    1. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer | A Violin on Baker Street

    1. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Here I am !!

    1. Extinction | Perspectives on life, universe and everything

    1. Hunters – reloaded | Perspectives on life, universe and everything

    1. Inappropriate love | shame

    1. We Ought to Obey God Rather Than Men | Among the Whispers

    1. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

    1. If You Lose Your Head While Cooking, It Insults My Intelligence | Bumblepuppies

    1. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon « Mama Bear Musings

    1. A giant step | Sue’s Trifles

    1. Have Faith In God | Flowers and Breezes

    1. I liked the place so much I bought more than the t-shirt! | thoughtsofrkh

    1. DAILY PROMPT: Risk | cockatooscreeching

    1. Dare To Dream | My Little Avalon

    1. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon – LOVING THE ALIEN | Phoenix Fights

    1. Three Firsts In A Day | Lisa’s Kansa Muse

    1. Daily Prompt: Being Intrepid! | All Things Cute and Beautiful

    1. Craters in my heart. | Your Best Friend from the DMV

    1. Risky Business for this Girl Born in the Year of the Rat « psychologistmimi

    1. here’s to evolution | y

    1. milking the way | peacefulblessedstar

    1. What giant step did you take where you hoped your leg wouldn’t break? | askgrampa

    1. Walking on the Moon | I Write Therefore I Am

    1. Leap and the Net will Appear | The Zombies Ate My Brains

    1. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

    1. Tiny Pieces | Barefoot on Rainy Days

    1. Losing Blood | The Land Slide Photography

    1. Daily Prompt: A Leap of Faith | Wright Outta Nowhere

    1. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Delicious Ambiguity

    1. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Infinitefreetime

    1. I’m Not Afraid of Lunar Monsters

    1. Some may say I’m wishing my days away… | An Upturned Soul

    1. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | The Wandering Poet

    1. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am

    1. Dream awake | mnemosynesandlethe

    1. Igmutaka’s Blessing | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am

    1. Two Years Later | Recovery Miles

    1. Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

    1. Where’s the Function Key for “Risk?” | by LRose

    1. A plea on behalf of all of us who self-publish. Daily Prompt | alienorajt

    1. for a pigeon | The Seminary of Praying Mantis

    1. DP_Walking on the Moon…or should I say – Gliding in the Sky! | Essence of Del

    1. Risk: Daily Post | Destino

    1. Haiku: Walking on the Moon | Mirth and Motivation

    1. My First Step Out of Rock Bottom to Start My Walk on the Moon | Ever Upward

    1. I did not break a leg | mombox

  1. Defying Gravity | Retrofocus
Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

9 Comment on “My Disney College Program (A quick summary of why)

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Infinitefreetime

  2. Pingback: Walking on the Moon | Alexia Jones

  3. Pingback: Sunday Snapshot: Walking on the Moon | Tommia's Tablet

  4. Pingback: Walking On The Moon – You Kidding! | Views Splash!

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt Catch-up: Walking on the Moon | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

