The glow from the road sign flickers in my rear view mirror as I pull into the parking spot. I look up and catch the eye of a clerk who aimlessly stares out the storefront window, My fingers twitch as I turn off the ignition.

My car has been in a state of disrepair for a seeming eternity. It runs fine, it just doesn’t have the common, socially-approved aesthetics that every one else has. There are no fog lights, no snow tires, no clean back seat. Just me. Me and a whole bunch of useless shit I’ve picked up somewhere along the way.

My fingers grope the compartments. 10, 35, 36. I open the middle container to a sea of asprin, pens and yellowed napkins. 41, 51, 56. I lift the warm, most likely flat, can in the cup holder. 81, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110.

Panic sets in. My hands burst into my pockets. Nothing. I fondle the opening of my camera bag. Nothing. I survey the vast wasteland of fast-food bags, sporting equipment and eclectic findings that is my backseat. Nothing.

Solemnly I open the door to the car and step out into the cold winter night. On the precipice of defeat I kneel to the ground and gaze upon the areas only my feet trudge. Nothing. Nothing. Nothing. In one last ditch effort I stick my hand under my car seat in the promise  of drinking with the muses of creative expression once more.

210.

Elated I jump up, dust my knees off and skip into the store. The artificial air hits my skin and I nod politely to the clerk. like a wide-eyed child I make my way to the coolers. No. No. No. Yes!!!

I stare for a moment, savoring the sight of the 20 oz. blue and red plastic grail for which I have traveled. Unwilling to wait any longer I open the door, retrieve the article and make my way to the counter.

I dump my coins upon the counter like a Spanish conquistador about to barter for the riches he seeks. “No, I do not want your plastic.”

I get back in my car and savor the first sips of sweetness.

It’s time to write.

 

This was written for the daily post. Check out the prompt here. And be sure to read what these other bloggers wrote:

  1. On Homophobia | AS I PLEASE
  2. Volcano | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Apathy | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  4. say what you mean, mean what you say | the hilarious pessimist
  5. Motes in Other’s Eyes/Daily Prompt | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  6. I drink too much – Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  7. Vices of many… | thoughtsofrkh
  8. Waking Up To A Nightmare And Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  9. One Crazy Mom » Never Gonna Give You Up….Or Am I?
  10. Smelly, Stinky Vice Rant
  11. I.N.S.O.M.N.I.A. | littlegirlstory
  12. Vice and Versa | Kate Murray
  13. Close Enough | Rima Hassan
  14. DP Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give Up | Sabethville
  15. Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  16. Please Don’t Burp In My Face! – Anecdotes | wangsgard.com
  17. Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up « Mama Bear Musings
  18. Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up | Tangled Up In Daydreams
  19. Sexual assault: the reality – Daily Prompt. Disturbing read. | alienorajt
  20. Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up | Awl and Scribe
  21. Pure Tone | Exploratorius
  22. Dirty | Hope* the happy hugger
  23. litter | yi-ching lin photography
  24. Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up | The Wandering Poet
  25. there are weaknesses | y
  26. Just Take My Ears. You Can Have Them. | aMUSEing THINGS
  27. Number 49 | My Little Avalon
  28. Please Throw Away the Candy Wrappers | marjanitalarosa
  29. Hope | Busy Mind Thinking
  30. Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up | Delicious Ambiguity
  31. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer | When the Vultures Come
  32. Just Order, Food Neophobia Or Not | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  33. Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up- Dishonesty and Self Hatred | Journeyman
  34. Never gonna give you up… Today’s daily prompt. | The Shevster’s Space
  35. Consider this! | The Shotgun Girls
  36. Daily Prompt: Being Mean! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  37. Viceroy of Micro Managing | To Write With a Broken Pencil is Pointless
  38. DAILY PROMPT: NEVER GONNA GIVE YOU UP – VICE | Francine In Retirement
  39. Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up | Views Splash!
  40. Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  41. There is no getting around it – people are hard to live with | An Upturned Soul
  42. Feelings | Life is great
  43. My Family’s Vices | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  44. Daily Prompt: Never gonna give you up……Food | Blogizing
  45. What Chips Are For | Spinning Tales
  46. Inspiration Monday 19 February 2014 Meets the Daily Prompt: Pet Peeve | One Starving Activist
  47. OCD vs. IDGAF | peacefulblessedstar
  48. We all have our vices | The Nameless One
  49. Replacing Love | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  50. Nosiness | Flowers and Breezes
  51. DP: Vices | Walk With Me
  52. Live, Love, Laugh, Dance, Pray
  53. Mucophagy | Glorious Results Of A Misspent Youth
  54. A MESSAGE FROM YOUR SPONSOR | SERENDIPITY
  55. Vices?! (Daily Prompt Challenge) | Ana Linden
  56. Daily Prompt: Snoring | The Road Less Travelled By
  57. Improper Birthday Songs | djgarcia94
  58. The Abusive Vice | The Christian Gazette
  59. Unmasking the Devil | A.C. Melody
  60. TX Children Like Dogs | Parents Are People Too
  61. A Wanna-be Writer’s Utopia | Write now?
  62. Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up | Basically Beyond Basic
  63. Amuse bouche, I worship thee | Mishe en Place
  64. A Bit Competition Crazy | LenzExperiments
  65. Cracking Knuckles | Read Me
  66. Tough Dilemmas in a Dog’s Life…. | Midwestern Plants
  67. Never Gonna Give You Up | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

6 Comment on ““It’s time to write” – a (somewhat) fictionalized account of my vice.

  1. Pingback: Feelings | Life is great

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: of vanity | Anawnimiss

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

