Like the title says, I’ve been alone for a little bit now: part of it by choice and part of it by circumstance. This week’s writing prompt, which I have really enjoyed doing lately, is about valentines and, after reading a couple, I guess I am in the counter-culture.

I love Valentine’s Day. I (would) see it as a challenge. If you are with a person and you have a day where you can do whatever you want to make them feel loved, who wouldn’t jump at that opportunity? Maybe I am naïve, maybe I am an idealist or maybe I have read one too many romantic/gothic portrayals of undying love: but if I have a chance to show a person how much I love them, well I am going to super-date the ass out of valentines day.

I think having a fun valentines day is centered around perceptions and expectations. If you expect to be wowed, wooed and woah-ed then it is going to be a hell of a lot harder to live up to your impossibly high standards. Go into V-day with the only objective being to be present in the presence of the other person. If you can do that, the day will be whatever you make of it.

I think a portion of the night depends on being creative, figuring out what each person will respond to and adding in some facet of that to the night. Of course valentines day is going to feel stale with chocolates, a movie and an under/overcooked dinner at an overly crowded restaurant. To show love for a person you have to know what a person loves.

I see the argument where people point to valentines day as a ploy to drive up profits. I get that. I think my only negative criticism of the day is that showing love and giving love shouldn’t be centered on one day. If we put the effort some of us put into valentines day during each day of our relationships would anyone be with the person they are with now? That’s a question that really is specific to each person.

For me, well, I am writing now. I like my isolation because it is allowing me to focus on other things (like school) I didn’t really focus on when I was pursuing relationships. That doesn’t mean I still don’t have an appreciation for this day. At my heart I am a romantic. At my core I am the dude who delivers the Harry speech at the end of the movie.

I love Valentine’s Day. And I am not embarrassed to say that.

Read what other people wrote:

  1. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  2. MY FAIR LADY – GARRY ARMSTRONG | SERENDIPITY
  3. A Journey of Ten Years | A mom’s blog
  4. Daily Prompt: Unconventional Love – Strangely True | SERENDIPITY
  5. MY STRANGELY WONDERFUL ROMANCE | SERENDIPITY
  6. My Funny Valentine | Vampire Maman
  7. Hallmark holiday | Mindful Digressions
  8. False Expectations | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  9. Playlist | Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle
  10. Fragrant valentine | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  11. Valentine’s Day Can’t Insult My Intelligence if There’s Snow | Bumblepuppies
  12. Love Surrounds You | ReFreshing Life
  13. Lessons from the Ghosts of Valentines Past | The Femindiary
  14. Day 25: Why I Married a Man who got me a Hairdryer for Valentine’s Day | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman
  15. Validation Day – Valentine’s Day from an Honest Woman’s Perspective | Shoot the messenger
  16. Weekly Writing Challenge| Single Awareness Day | Amy (and The Teddy With Sunglasses)
  17. my first valentine | Musings of a Random Mind
  18. Afraid of Valentine’s Day? | Myammy! Moving in together at 50…
  19. Weekly Writing Challenge: My Funny Valentine. It’s Not Always FUNny. | Tales from the Motherland
  20. I’ve been alone for a long time | “The Ish,” presented by the Bohemian Rock Star
Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

15 Comment on “I’ve been alone for a long time

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Valentine – The Hopeless Unromantic |

  2. Pingback: Last Minute Expressions of Love | Moments for the journey

  3. Pingback: Ghost Forest | litadoolan

  4. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: My Funny Valentine? | imagination

  5. Pingback: A Journey of Ten Years | A mom's blog

  6. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Valentine Memories | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  7. Pingback: “Be Mine” writing-challenge-valentine #poetry #valentine’sday | Moondustwriter's Blog

  8. Pingback: “Pencilgate”: My Funny Valentine | Pinstripes&Lipgloss

  9. Pingback: The 14th of February 1951 – Blacksburg, Virginia | Forgotten Correspondance

  10. Pingback: The 18th of February 1945 – Bastogne, Belgium | Forgotten Correspondance

  11. Pingback: Cleaning Up On Valentines | The Chatter Blog

  12. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – My Funny Valentine | Joe's Musings

  13. Pingback: Humans Are So Different on Valentine’s Day [HUMOUROUS LETTER] | Ramisa the Authoress

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

