It’s raining out and I have less than two hours to kill until the first playoff game today. Naturally I thought about switching to Netflix and killing time with a movie. But because I have spent a lot of time screwing around on here today I thought it might be fun to figure out my ten favorite movies (In no particular order).

A lot of them are “Chick flicks.”

Don’t judge me.

There are so many things I love about this movie: the characters, the quotes, the puppets. I love the way the movie is told with all the snippet flashbacks intercut throughout portions of the movie. Everyone can relate to trying to forget about someone who you were uniquely connected with. And everyone has a crisis of confidence every now and then…

It’s just such a great premise. It’s part science fiction, part love story, part thriller, part dramedy. It allows you to feel and also entertains you with a boat load of action. Plus Marion Cotillard is in and she is exquisite.

Some people call it a cult classic, I call it a comedy tour-de-force. Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson and Will Ferrell are all on top of their respective games. There are so many quotes to post, Orange Mocha Frappachino, Mer-Man, the tiny building. I might have to go watch this movie tonight.

For along time this movie was my number one. I loved the songs, I loved the scenery, I loved Nicole Kidman. It was my perfect movie. It still might be. I think I buy into it because I, too, am a writer who believes in the bohemian ideals of truth, beauty and love. Maybe I like the songs? I don’t know. It’s a combination of all of them. “The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return.”

I love this movie because of many things but nothing stands out as much as the last scene. It’s just delivered so well.

I thought about putting Annie Hall here but I decided to go with the more recent Woody Allen flick. Aside from the beauty of the film (shots of Paris in the rain are always pretty) or the fact that the movie feature a guy hanging out with early 20th century writers for the majority of the flick or the fact that Marion Cotillard is also in this flick, the movie deals with a theme of loving an age of time well before your birth – a very romantic thought. I dig that.

There seem to be two thoughts on these movie. Some find it to be utterly depressing or some find it just fucking awesome. I find it just fucking awesome. A lot of it is about finding yourself in a society with, well, drawbacks. And then there is Natalie Portman. If you do not love Natalie Portman in this movie you may not be human.

The Quotes: Show me the money, the quam, you’re my motherfucker, you complete me. How about Cuba winning best supporting actor at the Oscars for it? (I know that is not part of the actual movie, but I think about it when I watch it. This movie is everything. It completes me.

I love this movie because I have always been Tom. I misinterpret everything and build myself up to think things are there that aren’t (we all do that though).

Anything Shakespearian I am pretty high on (The Indie version of Hamlet and Baz Lurhman’s Romeo and Juliet almost made the cut). This one captures you from the very start and makes you emotionally invest yourself in the film.

 

 

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

