I had $15 worth of Playstation store credit and a  worsening bout of insomnia so I figured, “fuck it, lets do a dvd review.”

Fast forward about two hours later and I have just finished watching Kick-Ass 2. I think it is important for me to point out that I have this nasty little habit of loving up super hero movies a bit too much. I remember when  Kick-Ass first came out and, while I didn’t get to review the movie, I wrote a long opinion piece diagraming the different points the movie was making about our culture.

The first movie mocked society. From the scene outside of the diner where Kick Ass is fighting off those dudes who where attacking some guy to Big Daddy’s death scene where Hit Girl talks into the camera to the live audience: there were so many little nuances that made the movie special.

Kick-Ass 2 wasn’t that special.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s fun. There are worse ways to spend two or so hours. I just didn’t really get into the story as much as I did the first time. Parts of it felt like they were missing a couple more minutes.  For instance:

  • Dave’s relationship with Katie was wrapped up in about two minutes,
  • Jim Carrey’s character, whose death seems to serve as a main catalyst, is underdeveloped,
  • The beginning felt a little rushed and Hit Girl’s Hiatus into normalcy seemed misguided.

One thing that really bugs me, the more I think about it (Spoilers), is how Dave found out about his dad’s death. He got a text from the Motherfucker. Why doesn’t the Motherfucker hire a couple hit men, text Dave/Kick-Ass to come over and ice his ass in the first half hour of the movie? Isn’t that a somewhat substantial plot hole?

If your going to buy the movie, your buying it to see the fucked up ways they kill people – and there is nothing wrong with that. I guess I just expected a bit more from it after the impression the first one left on me. This movie has a Mystery Men feel that I really couldn’t shake away in my first viewing.

Bottom line: the movie is worth a rent. It feels like it was made to market to a different demographic than the first film which may affect what you take away from it.

 

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

One Comment on “#DVDReview: Kick-Ass 2

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

