Tis the season of holiday cheer,
Letters enter our house from far and near.
With key to board I’ll write non-withholding,
The thoughts in my head well worth scolding.

The holidays hark a time to think
About the reasons I fancy a drink.
My year – once bright – has long since dimmed,
Reflect, I must, while the tree is trimmed.

With utmost promise I entered the year,
determined to accomplish something dear.
“Graduate!” I said, with vigor and sprite,
Seeking the goal was my one true delight.

A college I found in an outskirt town
gave hope my degree doldrums would soon drown.
With passing day I labored in notebooks
Yet this fear could not quickly be unhooked.

The languish went for leagues in the coast town,
The jaunt left me weathered, donning a frown.
Yet try, I did – even if those do wonder,
But sill my dreams have not come to asunder.

Restart, I shall, in a place more fitting,
My schooling will exist in one sitting.
Wonder I do, was it the right choice?
Worry I do not, as it soothes my voice.

With love, no luck has been left for me,
And I am determined  to let that be.
Young parents post pictures proudly, all day long,
Of how the little ones dance to their favorite song.
In screenshots I pause, to look at young love’s plight;
I sleep soundly, not having to wake in the midst of night.

Perversive people ponder, is Nick alright?
Let this assure you, I exist with might.
My goals, albeit prolonged, I can feel
and my accomplishments will be real.

What once was intended to be
A memorandum of foolish jest,
Has skillfully reminded me
of who I am at my very best.

Merry Christmas to all this will not be,
As I see it in vain to say so free
something we should feel all year long
But I am not here to sing that song.

What I will say, in regular fashion,
Is I wish for you to live with passion.
Let all you love  know so every day,
I think we all would like to live that way.

 

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

